Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Boys Apr 04, 2015

Monterrey Rayados of Mexico, Brazil’s Coritiba to meet Sunday in Dallas Cup Super Group final

Strikers Logo

(Via Dallas Cup) – The Gordon Jago Super Group Finals for the 36th edition of the Dr Pepper Dallas Cup have been set as both Monterrey Rayados of Mexico and Coritiba of Brazil won their Super Group semifinal games.

In Friday’s opening semifinal match, it was Coritiba defeating Everton FC by a score of 1-0. Coritiba came out strong, and created the majority of chances throughout the game. Evandro da Silva slotted home a cross in the 34th minute to put Coritiba in the lead.  Everton was able to create a few good chances, but nothing that would even the score.

Carlos Rodriguez propelled Monterrey into the other Super Group Final slot, when he put home a cross in the 90th minute of a 0-0 game vs. River Plate. The game was even throughout, with both teams using creative attacks to push for the win, but it was Rodriguez who stole the show with his last-minute game winner.

The two winners will match up this Sunday evening at 6 p.m. CT at Toyota Stadium in Frisco. Coritiba is looking for their second Gordon Jago Super Group Championship in four years. Despite being the winningest club in Dallas Cup history with 15 “Boot and Ball” trophies, Monterrey has never won the elite Gordon Jago Super Group.

With defending champion River Plate’s elimination, it is now assured that the Dr Pepper Dallas Cup will not have a repeat champion for the tenth year in a row. The last repeat champion was Clube Atletico Paranaense who won back-to-back titles in 2004 and 2005.

Featured Players

See Commitment List