Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Boys Feb 25, 2020

Three more pro club academies join 2020 Dallas Cup Super Group

DALLAS, Texas – The Dallas Cup has announced that historic Premier League side West Ham United will compete in the Gordon Jago Super Group this April at Dallas Cup XLI. MLS sides FC Dallas and Toronto FC will also join the 2020 Super Group to round out the elite bracket.

This April will mark the sixth overall Dallas Cup appearance for West Ham United, who last competed in 2001. The Hammers hoisted the 1992 Super Group “Boot and Ball” championship trophy during their lone title run. The 2000 West Ham United side that competed in the Super Group featured England National Team players Michael Carrick and Jermaine Defoe. A year later, longtime national team defender Glen Johnson played at Dallas Cup XXII for West Ham United.

The West Ham United academy has been associated with the development of elite talent for several decades. Former England National Team captains Bobby Moore and Rio Ferdinand graduated from the academy, along with the likes of Frank Lampard, Martin Peters, and Harry Redknapp. The next wave of academy talent is currently on a tear in the U18 Premier League, going unbeaten in their last nine matches. The young West Ham United side currently sits in third place of the South division for 2019/2020 U18 Premier League season.

Joining West Ham United in the 2020 Gordon Jago Super Group are perennial Super Group participants FC Dallas and Toronto FC.

Considered by many as one of the most successful MLS academies, FC Dallas looks to make another championship run in the Gordon Jago Super Group. The local side was recently named the Major League Soccer 2019 Academy of the Year and remains the only MLS academy team to hoist the iconic Super Group “Boot and Ball” championship trophy (2017).

Also returning to the Gordon Jago Super Group is Toronto FC. Dallas Cup XLI will mark Toronto FC’s fifth Super Group appearance since debuting at the Dallas Cup in 2013. Last April, Toronto FC won the U12 and U16 Dallas Cup titles at the tournament’s 40th anniversary edition. Toronto FC hopes to become the first Canadian side to win the Super Group title since the elite bracket was formed in 1990. Toronto is currently undefeated for the 2019/2020 USSDA season with academy standout Jacen Russell-Rowe leading the way with five goals in three games.

2020 Gordon Jago Super Group

Atlético Paranaense (Brazil)
Vasco da Gama (Brazil)
Montreal Impact FC (Canada)
Toronto FC (Canada)
Atlético Nacional (Colombia)
Derby County FC (England)
West Ham United FC (England)
Eintracht Frankfurt (Germany)
CF Monterrey (Mexico)
Club León (Mexico)
Tigres (Mexico)
FC Dallas (United States)

Dallas Cup XLI will be played April 5-12. Keep up to date with more news at and follow the tournament on Twitter @dallascup.

Featured Players

Defender, Midfielder
See Commitment List