Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

ECNL Jun 25, 2021

ECNL Girls sees 25 athletes honored as Gatorade Players of the Year

RICHMOND, VA – ECNL Girls announced that 25 players have been selected as 2020-21 Gatorade State High School Players of the Year, including California’s Alyssa Thompson (Real So Cal), who was named the Gatorade National Girls Soccer Player of the Year.

Started in 1985, Gatorade established the recognition to recognize the nation’s most outstanding high school student-athletes for their athletic excellence, academic achievement and exemplary character.

“Congratulations to every athlete named as a Gatorade State High School Player of the Year for their respective states, and to Alyssa for garnering the national honor,” said ECNL Girls Commissioner Jen Winnagle. “Thank you for being role models both on and off the field. We could not be prouder of this milestone and are excited to see each athlete continue their success in the future.”

The following ECNL Girls players received the 2020-21 honors from Gatorade:

State Player Club
Alabama Haley Duca Alabama FC
Arizona Maggie Cagle Phoenix Rising
California Alyssa Thompson Real So Cal
DC Zoe Vidaurre Maryland United
Florida Mia Asenjo Florida Krush
Georgia Henley Tippins Concorde Fire Platinum
Idaho Kelsey Oyler Boise Thorns
Indiana Quincy McMahon Indiana Fire Juniors
Maine Maggie Cochran FC Stars
Maryland Payton Patrick Pipeline SC
Massachusetts Ariana Benzanson FC Stars
Minnesota Khyah Harper Minnesota Thunder
Mississippi Kate Smith Alabama FC
Missouri Rylee Howard St. Louis Scott Gallagher
New Hampshire Ella Fraser FC Stars
New Jersey Emily Mason PDA
New York Shae O’Rourke WNY Flash
North Carolina Asha Means Charlotte SA
Ohio Taylor Huff Internationals
Oklahoma Makenzie Malham Tulsa SC
Oregon Abi Hoffman Crossfire United
South Carolina Alaire Hodge South Carolina United
Tennessee Caroline Betts Tennessee SC
Washington Layne St. George Seattle United
Wisconsin Maggie Starker FC Wisconsin

Featured Players

See Commitment List