Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Tournaments Apr 05, 2021

Dallas Cup concludes with champions decided in U12, U17, U18 and U19 brackets

DALLAS, Texas – The Dallas Cup concluded on Sunday at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. The champions of the boys Under 17, Under 18, Under 19, and Under 12 age brackets were determined, capping off the 2021 Dallas Cup.

The Under 17 championship was a battle between two MLS NEXT sides as Miami Rush Kendall SC took on Baltimore Armour. From the start of the game, chances were limited as both sides looked defensively sound. Neither defense cracked before the end of regulation and the game was sent to penalty kicks to determine a champion. Baltimore Armour outlasted Miami Rush Kendall SC, 6-5, in the shootout and was named the 2021 Dallas Cup Under 17 champion.

[+READ: Dallas Cup crowns U13-U16 Boys champions]

The noon kickoff from Toyota Stadium was the Under 18 final between Future SC Monarchs out of Maryland and FC Dallas 03 Premier. Following an FC Dallas Premier red card in the 40th minute, Future SC was playing a man up for most of the match. On the stroke of halftime, the Maryland side took advantage. Monarchs’ forward Adeteye Gbadehan scored the opening goal of the game in the 45th minute thanks to a nice one-two combination inside the box. In the 49th minute, Sterling Harris II added a second goal with a slick first-touch finish, making the score 2-0 in favor of Future SC Monarchs. Despite the man-disadvantage, FC Dallas’ Diego Pepi pulled a goal back in the 80th minute to make the score 2-1, but it was a little too late. The final whistle blew and Future SC Monarchs were crowned the Under 18 Dallas Cup champion.

The final match of the 2021 Dallas Cup was a North Texas clash between Dallas Texans ECNL and Solar MLS NEXT to decide the Under 19 champion. Solar’s Pierce Wear scored the first goal of the game in the 21st minute, tucking the ball into the right side of the net to open up the scoring. In the 57th minute, Texans’ Jason Rivera scored the equalizer with a rocket from outside the box to level the match at 1-1. The match did not remain level for long as Solar was awarded a penalty kick in the 65th minute. Luis Sahmkow stepped up to the spot and calmly converted the PK, putting Solar back in front 2-1. In the 84th minute, Texans would once again bounce back. Following a long throw into the box, the ball landed at the foot of Texans’ Jonathan Marquez who guided home the late goal to make the match level again at 2-2. Penalty kicks were required to determine a champion. Thanks to two late saves by keeper Martin Dominguez, Solar won the penalty kick shootout and the Under 19 “Boot and Ball” trophy. Luis Sahmkow was named the Toyota MVP of the game.

The Under 12 championship between Aspire Soccer Club and San Diego Surf was played this morning at the Toyota Soccer Center next door to the stadium. Surf’s Mays Landers scored the first, and only, goal of the game in the 52nd minute to lead the Californian side to the Under 12 Dallas Cup title. San Diego Surf also won the Under 14 Dallas Cup title yesterday.

2021 Dallas Cup XLII Champions

Dallas Cup Girls Invitational presented by Mary Kay
Girls Under 16: Solar U15 ECNL (TX)
Girls Under 17: Solar ECNL (TX)
Girls Under 18: Solar FDL (TX)
Girls Under 19: Crossfire Premier ECNL (WA)

Dallas Cup XLII
Boys Under 12: San Diego Surf SC NPL (CA)
Boys Under 13: Houston Dynamo Academy (TX)
Boys Under 14: San Diego Surf SC (CA)
Boys Under 15: FC Dallas Academy (TX)
Boys Under 16: Dallas Texans ECNL (TX)
Boys Under 17: Baltimore Armour MLS NEXT (MD)
Boys Under 18: Future SC Monarchs (MD)
Boys Under 19: Solar MLS NEXT (TX)

Featured Players

See Commitment List