Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

USMNT Jan 25, 2020

USMNT 22-player travel roster announced for upcoming friendly against Costa Rica

CHICAGO – U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Gregg Berhalter has announced the 22-player travel roster that will prepare to face regional foe Costa Rica in the team’s opening match of 2020 on Saturday, Feb. 1 at Dignity Health Sports Park in Carson, Calif. (3:55 p.m. ET; ESPNews, UniMás, TUDN).

After quickly shifting camp from Doha, Qatar to Bradenton, Fla., a total of 26 players took part in the first three weeks of the 2020 January Camp at IMG Academy.

Following Paxton Pomykal’s departure earlier this month, three more players have been released back to their MLS clubs. Goalkeeper JT Marcinkowski will re-join the San Jose Earthquakes, while forward Jordan Morris and midfielder Cristian Roldan return to Seattle Sounders FC ahead of their Concacaf Champions League campaign.

The delegation travels to the Los Angeles area this afternoon to begin final preparations. With a number of players at different stages of their careers in the National Teams programs, the match against Costa Rica presents an opportunity for them to stake their claim.

“It’s been a good few weeks in Florida. The guys have worked hard and have made progress in all aspects of our game model,” Berhalter said. “We’d like to thank Seattle Sounders and San Jose Earthquakes for their collaboration in releasing their players and wish them success at the start of their campaigns. We now turn our focus to preparing for Costa Rica and encouraging the players to take advantage of the opportunity and finish off the month with a positive result.”


GOALKEEPERS (3): Sean Johnson (New York City FC; 8/0), Bill Hamid (D.C. United; 6/0), Matt Turner (New England Revolution; 0/0)

DEFENDERS (8): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; 0/0), Reggie Cannon (FC Dallas; 10/0), Chase Gasper (Minnesota United FC; 0/0), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; 0/0), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls; 16/3), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union; 0/0), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; 0/0), Walker Zimmerman (LAFC; 11/2)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; 0/0), Christian Cappis (Hobro/DEN; 0/0), Bryang Kayo (Unattached; 0/0), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 13/2), Brandon Servania (FC Dallas; 0/0), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; 6/0)

FORWARDS (5): Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 32/5), Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas; 0/0), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids; 5/0), Ulysses Llanez (Wolfsburg/GER; 0/0), Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew SC; 55/12)

Featured Players

Defender, Midfielder
See Commitment List