Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Youth WNT May 29, 2023

Twenty-three players named to U-17 USWYNT roster for camp in North Carolina

CHICAGO – The U.S. Under-17 Women’s Youth National Team will come together in Winston-Salem, N.C. for a training camp running from June 4-11.

Katie Schoepfer will coach her first training camp as the U-17 WYNT head coach after moving up from the U.S. U-15 WYNT, and has call up 23 players, all born in 2006. Four players on the roster represented the USA at the 2022 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup in India, all seeing significant action.

Forward Emeri Adames played in all four games in India and had one assist. Defenders Jordyn Bugg and Nicki Fraser each saw action in three games while forward Amalia Villareal played in three matches and had one goal and two assists.

[+READ: Class of 2025 SoccerWire Featured Players set to enter active recruiting window on June 15]

This group of players is age-eligible for the 2024 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup which has an age cutoff of players born on or after January 1, 2004. This group of players, who will become the U.S. U-18 WYNT on Aug. 1, are too old for the next U-17 Women’s World Cup Team, which will have an age cut-off for Jan. 1, 2007. The 23 players on the roster come from 16 different states and 19 different youth clubs.



Goalkeepers (2): Mateya Dessieux (Tophat; Knoxville, Tenn.), Sonoma Kasica (Florida Premier FC; St. Petersburg, Fla.)

Defenders (8): Aven Alvarez (NC Courage Academy; New Hill, N.C.), Elizabeth Boamah (ALBION SC San Diego; San Diego, Calif.), Jordyn Bugg (San Diego Surf; El Cajon, Calif.), Nicki Fraser (Real Colorado; Highlands Ranch, Colo.), Reese Klein (Florida United SC; Cooper City, Fla.), Hope Munson (Utah Avalanche; Salt Lake City, Utah), Tanna Schornstein (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Carla Small (IMG Academy; Waipahu, Hawaii)

Midfielders (7): Nawreen Ahmad (Virginia Union FC; Falls Church, VA), Kendall Bodak (NEFC; Monson, Mass.), Shaela Bradley (Portland Thorns Academy; La Center, Wash.), Isabela Engle (Minnesota Thunder Academy; Edina, Minn.), Claire Hutton (World Class FC; Bethlehem, N.Y.), Neely Kerr (Tophat; Buford, Ga.), Linda Ullmark (Western New York Flash; Buffalo, N.Y.)

Forwards (6): Emeri Adames (Solar SC; Red Oak, Tex.), Sophia Bradley (PDA; Wayne, N.J.), Ava McDonald (FC Dallas; Allen, Tex.), Miri O’Donnell (FC Bay Area Surf; San Ramon, Calif.), Jaden Thomas (FC Dallas; Dallas, Texas), Amalia Villarreal (Michigan Jaguars FC; Lansing, Mich.)