Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

National Teams Dec 18, 2015

Pugh, Miazga, Hensley voted U.S. Soccer Young Players of the Year

Strikers Logo

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – Mallory Pugh, Matt Miazga and Kevin Hensley have been voted the 2015 U.S. Soccer Young Female, Young Male and Young Disabled Player of the Year, respectively. This was the third time Pugh has been nominated and the first for Miazga and Hensley.

A midfielder for the Under-20 Women’s National Team, Mallory Pugh recently captained the U-20’s to the CONCACAF U-20 Women’s Championship title in Honduras, where she also earned the Golden Ball and Golden Boot awards. Pugh has started every game for the U-20’s this year, racking up nine goals and four assists. Pugh continues to play her club soccer for Real Colorado.

A defender who played for three different U.S. National Teams in 2015, Matt Miazga started 11 of 15 games for the U-20s, including four at the FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand. Miazga also played in all five games of the CONCACAF Men’s Olympic Qualifying tournament. His performances merited a call-up to the full National Team for the team’s first two 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying matches, where he earned his first cap against St. Vincent & the Grenadines. In his first full year with the senior side, Miazga played in 30 matches for the New York Red Bulls and finished fourth in the voting for MLS Defender of the Year.

A key factor for the U.S. Paralympic National Team, Kevin Hensley has been present in every training camp in 2015, dedicating himself to the sport. Having been named captain of the PNT, Hensley has led the team to victories against soccer powerhouses Argentina and the Netherlands at international tournaments. Hensley scored vital goals to help the PNT get to the Quarterfinals of the World Championship back in June and eventually qualify for the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio.

A new voting process was put into place last year. Votes are collected from respective National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2015, American soccer league (MLS, NASL and NWSL) head coaches, select media members, former players and administrators. Players cannot win the Young Male or Young Female award more than once.

The Young Male and Young Female Player of the Year honors were first awarded in 1998, with Josh Wolff and Cindy Parlow collecting the trophies. The Disabled Player of the Year was first awarded in 2012, with Felicia Schroeder receiving the honor.

Featured Players

See Commitment List