Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

MLS Oct 31, 2022

Philadelphia Union to face LAFC in 2022 MLS Cup

NEW YORK – It’s best versus best as the top two teams from the MLS regular season – Philadelphia Union and LAFC – have conquered the 2022 MLS Cup Playoffs and are headed to the 2022 MLS Cup.

With a 3-1 win over New York City Football Club in the Audi 2022 MLS Cup Playoffs Eastern Conference Final, the Eastern Conference No. 1 seed Philadelphia Union secured their spot in MLS Cup for the first time in club history. After a scoreless first half, NYCFC opened scoring in the 57th minute, but the Union responded by rattling off three second-half goals in an 11-minute span for the win.

Philadelphia will travel to face fellow MLS Cup debutant, Western Conference champion Los Angeles Football Club, at Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles, CA, this Saturday, Nov. 5 at 4 p.m. ET (FOX and UniMás in the U.S and on TSN4 and TVA Sports in Canada).

The Los Angeles Football Club advanced to their first MLS Cup in club history on Sunday as well, earning the right to host Major League Soccer’s championship match at Banc of California Stadium after defeating Austin FC 3-0 today in the Audi 2022 MLS Cup Playoffs Western Conference Final.

LAFC’s Western Conference Final game-winning goal came from Colombian striker Cristian “Chicho” Arango who raced in front of a defender and perfectly headed a Carlos Vela corner kick into the top corner of the net in the 29th minute of play. Arango also scored the stoppage time game-winner that lifted LAFC past cross-town rival LA Galaxy in the Western Conference Semifinal.

2022 MLS Cup will be a matchup of the top two teams of the 2022 season as both finalists were not only No. 1 seeds in their respective conferences, but also boasted the best two records in the regular season, sitting No. 1 (LAFC) and No. 2 (Philadelphia Union) in the Supporters’ Shield standings.

In addition, MLS will crown a new champion for the second consecutive season and 15th time overall, as 14th other MLS teams have previously been crowned champion.

Featured Players

Forward, Midfielder
See Commitment List