Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

ECNL Dec 29, 2021

ECNL clubs see record 31 alumni selected in 2022 NWSL Draft

RICHMOND, Va. – On December 18, 50 women heard their names called and had their dreams realized when they were selected as part of the 2022 NWSL Draft. In this year’s edition of the draft, ECNL clubs saw 31 former players selected, tied for the most ever representatives from the league.

The draft began with Naomi Girmi (De Anza Force) taken as the first overall pick, marking the fifth consecutive season an ECNL alum was selected first overall. The first seven picks were ECNL alumni, marking the longest stretch of alumni selected to kick off the draft in the league’s history, and having nine alumni selected in the first round is also the highest total in league history.

Since the first ECNL alumnus was drafted by the NWSL in 2015, more than 200 women who competed in the ECNL and for ECNL clubs have moved on to eventually play professional soccer in the United States’ top women’s league.

“Congratulations to all the athletes selected in the 2022 NWSL Draft who saw their dreams become reality,” said Jen Winnagle, ECNL Chief Operations Officer and Girls Commissioner. “These amazing young women have dedicated their lives to the sport of soccer and they continue to push limits and achieve at higher and higher levels. We’re proud to have had so many incredible players compete for clubs in our league and see them continue to represent their clubs and the ECNL in such a positive way.”

Below is a full list of the ECNL alumni selected in the 2022 NWSL Draft:

Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Round 4
Naomi Girma (De Anza Force) Sydny Nasello (Tampa Bay United) Bella Briede (Tophat SC) Kayla Bruster (Tophat SC)
Jaelin Howell (Real Colorado) Charme Morgan (Dallas Texans) Hope Breslin (Albertson Fury) Izzy Rodriguez (Michigan Hawks)
Emily Gray (Penn Fusion) Sammi Fisher (Real So Cal) Haleigh Stockpole (CASL) Ryan Gareis (Sockers FC)
Savannah DeMelo (Strikers FC) Claudia Dickey (Charlotte SA) Sarah Griffith (Sockers FC) Raleigh Loughman (MVLA)
Mia Fishel (San Diego Surf) Ryanne Brown (Indiana Fire) Lily Nabet (Real So Cal) Natalie Beckman (Colorado Storm)
Diana Ordonez (FC Dallas) Gabby Provenzano (PDA) Kayla McKeon (Dallas Sting) Jordan Thompson (Washington Premier)
Elyse Bennett (FC Wisconsin) Kelly Ann Livingstone (Match Fit Academy) Audrey Harding (Ohio Premier)
Caitlin Cosme (Albertson Fury) Sydney Pulver (Real Colorado)
Julie Doyle (San Diego Surf) Jordyn Bloomer (FC Wisconsin)


To view the complete draft list, click here.