Get Recruited Faster in the SoccerWire Player Directory

Exposure is half the battle
Global Apr 27, 2017

Draw determines groups for 2017 CONCACAF U-13 Champions League

Strikers Logo

MEXICO CITY (Via CONCACAF) – The draw for the third edition of the CONCACAF Under-13 Champions League was held Wednesday at the JW Marriott in the Polanco section of Mexico City.

The event, which determined the groups for the tournament to be played from August 5-12, was opened with a welcoming address from CONCACAF General Secretary Phillipe Moggio. Also present were Hector Paniagua, Deputy General Director of Consumer Banking at Scotiabank in Mexico, and Juan Adalberto Lopez, General Director of Amateur Programs of the Mexican Football Federation.

“It is a pleasure to announce the third edition of the Scotiabank CONCACAF Under-13 Champions League. We would like to thank our commercial partner Scotiabank for believing in CONCACAF and in our youth, while offering this important development platform,” said CONCACAF General Secretary Philippe Moggio. “The international tournament provides a significant opportunity to encourage football passion, foster talent as well as fair play values, which are essential for the future generations within the region.”

The sixteen participating clubs from ten CONCACAF nations were drawn into four groups of four for round-robin play. The competition will be played at the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol’s new facilities in Toluca.

“At Scotiabank we are commitment to continue supporting amateur athletes. We are proud to host this championship once again in Mexico, as well as to witness the enthusiasm and talent of the players from the countries they represent,” said Hector Paniagua, Deputy General Director of Consumer Banking at Scotiabank Mexico

Defending champion Santa Ana (El Salvador) was drawn into Group B with Universidad Cantera Norte (Mexico), Toronto FC (Canada) and Real Esteli (Nicaragua).

Scotiabank CONCACAF Under-13 Champions League 2017 Groups
(in order of group position)

Group A
Liga Municipal Boca del Rio (Mexico)
Honduras representative (TBD by June 11)
Portmore United FC (Jamaica)
Panama representative (TBD by April 30)

Group B
Universidad Cantera Norte (Mexico)
Santa Ana (El Salvador)
Toronto FC (Canada)
Real Esteli (Nicaragua)

Group C
Pioneros Cancún (Mexico)
Trinidad & Tobago representative (TBD by June 11)
Alajuelense (Costa Rica)
San Salvador (El Salvador)

Group D
Fuerza Naranja (Mexico)
Herediano (Costa Rica)
Chicago Fire (USA)
Vancouver Whitecaps FC (Canada)

Featured Players

Midfielder, Forward
See Commitment List