Get Your College Soccer Recruiting Profile Viewed Over 1 MILLION TIMES Per Year

Youth Boys Apr 10, 2023

Dallas Cup concludes 2023 event with round of hard-fought title matches

DALLAS, Texas – The 2023 Dallas Cup concluded on Sunday with the remaining boys’ finalists taking the Toyota Stadium pitch for the boys’ 17-Under, 18-Under, 19-Under, and Gordon Jago Super Group championship matches.

The marquee match of the day was the much-anticipated Gordon Jago Super Group final between Denmark’s FC Midtjylland and Brazil’s Sao Paulo FC. In the 26th minute, Malthe Melin scored the opening goal of the match. After his first shot on goal was denied by the Sao Paulo keeper, Melin gathered his own rebound and tucked away his second chance on goal to put the Danish side in front, 1-0. In the second half, Sao Paulo continued in pursuit of the equalizing goal, but Midtjylland’s sound team defense, spearheaded by center-back Mikkel Fischer, bottled up the Brazilian side’s attack. The final whistle blew as Dallas Cup debutant, FC Midtjylland, was crowned the 2023 Dallas Cup Gordon Jago Super Group champion. FC Midtjylland is the first Danish side all-time to claim the coveted trophy. Mikkel Fischer was named the Toyota MVP after the game.

The opening match of the day from Toyota Stadium was the 17-Under Boys’ final between Mexico’s Tigres and the 06 ODP National Select team. The first, and only, goal of the match did not come until the 58th minute when Tigres’ Diego Porras connected on a gorgeous, half-volleyed strike from outside the box to put the Mexican side ahead 1-0. Tigres entered the match conceding just one goal in five games and their strong team defense was on full display again, as they kept a clean sheet, and hoisted the Under 17 “Boot & Ball” trophy, which was their 16th Dallas Cup title all-time.

The 2023 Dallas Cup Under 18 final featured FC Dallas ECNL White and the 05 ODP National Select team. FC Dallas’ Stetson Buttrill scored the opening goal of the match in the 7th minute with a crafty chip of the keeper to put the local side ahead 1-0. ODP National Select leveled the game in the 18th minute after Damian Espinoza converted from the penalty spot to make the score 1-1. About midway through the second half, ODP’s Itzak Sandoval swung a beautiful cross into the box that found Oliver Becker in stride, who headed home the go ahead goal in the 67th minute. The match ended 2-1 in favor of the 2005 ODP National Select side who was named the 2023 Dallas Cup Under 18 champions.

The 2:00pm match was the Under 19 final between Dallas Texans ECNL and Louisville City Academy. In the 35th minute, the local side jumped in front with a goal from Clay Murador, who scored a nicely guided goal off the inside of the right post. After the break, however, the Louisville City Academy side found their stride. Kyle Kimberling scored on a beautiful left-footed strike from outside the box that flew into the top corner of the net. Nearing the end of regulation, Andrew Varela scored the winning goal as Louisville City Academy was crowned the Dallas Cup Under 19 Boys champions. Louisville City Academy is the first champion from the state of Kentucky in tournament history.

2023 Dallas Cup 

19U Gordon Jago Super Group: FC Midtjylland (DEN)
19U Boys: Louisville City Academy 05/04 Purple (KY)
18U Boys: USYS – 2005 ODP National Select (USA)
17U Boys: Tigres UANL (MEX)
16U Boys: USYS – 2007 ODP National Select (USA)
15U Boys: Crossfire Premier B08 ECNL (WA)
14U Boys: Academia Atlas FC (MEX)
13U Boys: FC Dallas U13 Academy (TX)
12U Boys: FC Dallas 2011 North Academy (TX)

2023 Dallas Cup Girls’ Invitational 

19U Girls: Solar SC ECNL RL 04G Williams
17U Girls: Solar SC G06 ECNL (TX)
16U Girls: FC Dallas Youth ECNL G07 (TX)
15U Girls: Solar SC ECNL G08 (TX)

Featured Players

Midfielder, Defender
Forward, Midfielder
See Commitment List