Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Tournaments Jan 25, 2019

Dallas Cup adds trio of MLS Academy teams into 2019 Super Group

Strikers Logo

DALLAS, Texas (Via Dallas Cup)– The Dr Pepper Dallas Cup, the oldest and most prestigious international youth soccer tournament in the United States, has announced that FC Dallas, New York City FC, and Toronto FC will compete in the Gordon Jago Super Group at the Dr Pepper Dallas Cup’s 40th Anniversary Tournament this April.

Considered by many as one of the most successful MLS academies, FC Dallas looks to make another championship run in the Gordon Jago Super Group. The local side is the only MLS academy team to hoist the iconic Super Group “Boot and Ball” championship trophy. FC Dallas accomplished the feat in 2017, spearheaded by the attack of Paxton Pomykal and Jesus Ferreira, who figure to play a big role at the FIFA U20 World Cup this summer for the United States. FC Dallas’ new wave of academy talent is looking to improve upon last year’s Dallas Cup appearance where they failed to advance from the group stage.

+READ: Liverpool FC accepts invitation to 2019 Dr Pepper Dallas Cup

Dallas Cup newcomer New York City FC looks to make a strong tournament debut in the 2019 Gordon Jago Super Group. This past summer, NYC FC was crowned the 2017/2018 US Soccer Development Academy U18/U19 national champions. The academy’s success has rolled into the 2018/2019 USSDA campaign, as they currently sit in first place of the Northeast Division thanks to a prolific attack scoring 44 goals in just 13 games played.

Also returning to the Gordon Jago Super Group is Toronto FC. The Dallas Cup’s 40th Anniversary tournament will mark Toronto FC’s fourth Super Group appearance since debuting at the Dallas Cup in 2013. They hope to improve upon their previous appearances and become the first Canadian champion across all age groups since 1988. Current academy standout Ayo Akinola was recently announced as part of the U-20 USMNT January camp in preparation for the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup.

The MLS trio joins previously announced Premier League sides, Arsenal FC and Liverpool FC, as well as defending Super Group champion Tigres in the 2019 Gordon Jago Super Group. Dr Pepper Dallas Cup’s 40th anniversary tournament will be played April 14-21, 2019. Keep up to date with more news at and follow us on Twitter @dallascup.

Featured Players

See Commitment List