Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Youth Boys Jul 14, 2017

U.S. Soccer Development Academy announces 2016-2017 awards

Strikers Logo

CARSON, California (Via U.S. Soccer) – With the 2016-2017 season coming to a close this weekend, the U.S. Soccer Development Academy named its end of the year award winners, including Players and Coaches of the Year as well as Conference Best XI’s, at its pre-Academy Championships kickoff Banquet on Thursday.

Award recipients represent the top youth players in the United States, with a large number receiving call ups to U.S. Youth National Team camps and tournaments throughout the season.

+READ: LA Galaxy erase 2-0 deficit to punch ticket to USSDA U-17/18 Final

The awards were presented in groups based on the three Conferences of the Development Academy: West, Central and East. A total of 10 awards per Conference, the honors included:

U-15/16, U-17/18 Conference Best XI
U-15/16, U-17/18 Player of the Year
U-13, U-14, U-15/16, U-17/18 Coach of the Year

The Administrator of the Year is awarded to an individual that manages the daily operations of their clubs and assists staff with creating the ideal environment for players.

+READ: Texans SC Houston stuns Colorado Rapids to reach USSDA U-17/18 Final

The Respect Award, given to the nation’s Academy program that demonstrates the most respect for the game and their opponents, went to Internationals SC.

The Community Award highlights a club that is the exemplary model and resource in their community and contributes to the development of all players and coaches in their area. These clubs are making a significant impact on the growth of the game in their respective communities.

In the West Conference, LA Galaxy’s Jorge Hernandez (U-15/16) and Seattle Sounders’ Trey Muse (U-17/18) were each given player of the year honors. For coach of the year, Sean Forster of Pateadores (U-13), Mike Varas of Sacramento Republic FC (U-14), Simon Elliot of Sacramento Republic FC (U-15/16) and Martin Vasquez of Real Salt Lake AZ (U-17/18) were named Coaches of the Year in the West. For Administrator of the year, Jodi Tarr of Placer United was bestowed the award. Finally, the Conference’s Community award, given to the Academy program that demonstrated the best service to their communities, went to Seattle Sounders FC.

+READ: Atlanta United U-15/16 tops Vancouver Whitecaps to reach USSDA Final

The following 22 players were named to the Conference Best XI teams:

GOALKEEPER: Sam Fowler (Seattle Sounders FC)
DEFENDERS: Travian Sousa (Sacramento Republic FC), Leonardo Sepulveda (LA Galaxy), Khai Brisco (Seattle Sounders FC), Lorenzo Lopez (Portland Timbers)
MIDFIELDERS: Cameron Harper (Pateadores), Richard Ledezma (Real Salt Lake AZ), Taylor Jacob Davila (Real So Cal)
FORWARDS: Jorge Hernandez (LA Galaxy), Sebastian Soto (Real Salt Lake AZ), Declan McGlynn (Crossfire Premier)

GOALKEEPER: Trey Muse (Seattle Sounders FC)
DEFENDERS: Erick Gallinar (LA Galaxy), Glademir Mendoza (Real Salt Lake AZ), Christopher Grey (San Jose Earthquakes), Samual Rogers (Seattle Sounders FC)
MIDFIELDERS: Charles Wehan (Strikers FC), Giovanni Aguilar (Sacramento Republic FC), Andrew Paoli (San Jose Earthquakes)
FORWARDS: Wilson Harris (Real So Cal), Lucas Cini (Portland Timbers), Francis Avoce (Sacramento Republic FC)

Players of the year in the Central Conference were Brayan Padilla of FC Dallas (U-15/16) and Christian Cappis of Texans SC Houston (U-17/18). The four coach of the year honors went to Vardar’s Morris Lupenec (U-13), FC Dallas’ Chris Hayden (U-14), Colorado Rapids’ Chris Cartlidge (U-15/16) and Texans SC Houston’s Eric Quill (U-17/18). Off the field, Amy Richters of Crew SC Academy Wolves took home Administrator of the Year honors, while the Conference’s Community award was given to St. Louis Scott Gallagher Metro.

+READ: FC Dallas Academy U-15/16 advances to third straight USSDA Final

Conference Best XI teams:

GOALKEEPER: Damian Las (Chicago Fire)
DEFENDERS: Nathan Toledo (FC Dallas), Eben Noverr (Colorado Rapids), Nick Stone (Crew SC Academy Wolves), Axel Alejandre (FC United Soccer Club)
MIDFIELDERS: Milo Garvanian (Colorado Rapids), Cameron Duke (Sporting Kansas City), Isaiah Parente (Crew SC Academy)
FORWARDS: Brayan Padilla (FC Dallas), Joshua Penn (Sockers FC), Gianluca Busio (Sporting Kansas City)

GOALKEEPER: Steve Tekesky (Sporting Kansas City)
DEFENDERS: Jon-Talen Maples (Lonestar SC Academy), Jack Maher (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Metro), Samuel Vines (Colorado Rapids), Aedan Stanley (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri)
MIDFIELDERS: Christian Cappis (Texans SC Houston), Brandon Servania (FC Dallas), Wan Kuzain Wan Kamal (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS: Daniel Wright (Crew SC Academy Wolves), Thomas Warr (Indiana Fire Academy), Derek Dodson (Sockers FC)

The Academy’s East Conference saw Atlanta United FC’s George Bello (U-15/16) and Beachside SC’s Austin DaSilva (U-17/18) take home player of the year honors, while Philadelphia Union’s Kevin Coleman (U-13), IMG Academy’s Marcelo Carrera, Bethesda SC’s Matt Ney (U-15/16) and Weston FC’s Victor Pastora each earned coach of the year honors across the Conference’s oldest age groups. The East Conference Administrator of the year was awarded to Baltimore Armour’s Linda Carmody, while the award for positive community impact went to Capital Area Railhawks – CASL.

Conference Best XI teams:

GOALKEEPER: Matt Frank (New York Red Bulls)
DEFENDERS: George Bello (Atlanta United FC), Nico Benalcazar (New York City FC), Pablo Vargas (Weston FC), Mason Judge (Chargers Soccer Club)
MIDFIELDERS: Kevin Vang (New England Revolution), Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union), Nelson Martinez (D.C. United)
FORWARDS: JJ Jimenez (Everton FC Westchester), Giovanni Reyna (New York City FC), Nigel Griffith (Players Development Academy)

GOALKEEPER: Hunter Pinho (Players Development Academy)
DEFENDERS: Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union), Edwin Figueroa (Atlanta United FC), Jake Dengler (Baltimore Armour), Benjamin Di Rosa (Bethesda SC)
MIDFIELDERS: Joseph Brito (New England Revolution), Raul Aguilera (Orlando City SC), Lucas Del Rosario (Capital Area Railhawks – CASL)
FORWARDS: Emanuel Perez (Capital Area Railhawks – CASL), Austin DaSilva (Beachside SC), Lagos Kunga (Atlanta United FC)

Featured Players

See Commitment List