Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on


UMD coach Sasho Cirovski selected for DC Sports Hall of Fame

WASHINGTON, D.C. (Via University of Maryland) – National Championship winning University of Maryland head coaches Cathy Reese and Sasho Cirovski have been selected for induction into the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame. Reese and Cirovski are among 11 honorees that will be inducted in a special ceremony on Sunday, June 23 at Nationals Park prior to the 1:35 p.m. game between the Washington Nationals and Atlanta Braves.

Reese, who became the all-time winningest coach in Maryland history this season, has led the Maryland women’s lacrosse team to unprecedented success in her 13 seasons as head coach. Reese holds a 265-21 record as the head coach of Maryland and a 296-50 record overall.

The ’98 University of Maryland graduate has won 11 National Championships in her time at Maryland (four as a player, three as an assistant coach, four as a head coach and has been named the IWLCA National Coach of the Year three times. Recently also inducted into the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame, Reese has reached the final four in each of the past 20 seasons and has 20 conference championships as head coach at Maryland, most recently winning the Big Ten Regular Season title for the fifth year in a row this past weekend.

Reese has coached seven Tewaaraton Award winners, 16 Tewaaraton finalists and 57 All-Americans in her time at Maryland is a 10-time conference Coach of the Year.

As a player, Reese was a Two-Time All-American & First Team All-ACC (1997, 1998) and the 1998 NCAA Tournament Most Valuable Player. The attacker won a National Championship in each of her four years as a student-athlete.

Cirovski, the winningest coach in Maryland soccer history (387-143-53), has captured three National Championships, most recently the 2018 title. He has led the Terps to 24 postseason berths, including nine appearances in the College Cup, and has recorded 25 consecutive winning seasons. Cirovski is the ninth coach in Division I soccer history to win three national titles and one of just nine coaches to win 400 matches at the Division I level. He is a two-time national coach of the year.

Now entering his 27th season at Maryland, Cirovski has won 15 conference titles and produced 34 All-Americans. Two Maryland players under Cirovski’s leadership have won three MAC Hermann Trophy awards for National Player of Year and 10 have been finalists for the award. He has coached nine conference players of the year and 48 first-team all-conference selections.

Forty eight of Cirovski’s players have been selected in the MLS SuperDraft, including two No. 1 overall picks, and numerous have gone on to play at the international level, including five players that have been included in World Cup squads.

Former Maryland football and baseball player Tom Brown, who went on to play in both Major League Baseball and the National Football League, where he won three NFL titles, was also selected for induction.

Individual nominees for inclusion must have gained prominence in the Washington area through their achievements in sports as an athlete, coach, owner, executive, member of the media, or contributor. A professional, collegiate, or high school team that has made a significant and positive impact in the Greater Washington community through outstanding achievement will be eligible to be recognized as a Team of Distinction.

Featured Players

Midfielder, Forward
See Commitment List