Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Nov 20, 2018

Nominees set for U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year Award

Strikers Logo

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – U.S. Soccer has announced the nominees for the 2018 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year award. Midfielders Tyler Adams, Weston McKennie and Wil Trapp, defender Matt Miazga and goalkeeper Zack Steffen are the MNT nominees.

Voting for the awards starts today and closes on Dec. 3, 2018 at 11:59 p.m. ET. The winners will be announced during the first week of December.

As the MNT went through a transitional phase in 2018, all five MNT players are first-time nominees and used this year to take their first steps toward establishing themselves with the senior team.

Adams tied for the team lead with eight appearances and scored his first international goal in the USA’s 1-0 victory against Mexico on Sept. 11. The 19-year-old also stayed consistent with the New York Red Bulls, registering seven assists in 27 appearances to help the club to the MLS Supporters Shield and their current run to the Eastern Conference Final.

McKennie established his place in the USA midfield by making six appearances while also taking huge strides with German Bundesliga club Schalke, helping Die Knappen qualify for the UEFA Champions League last season before going on to score his first two goals during the current campaign. Miazga led all MNT center backs with seven appearances, while serving as a key figure in helping Dutch Eredivisie side Vitesse qualify for the UEFA Europa League.

+READ: Over 350 players earn U.S. BNT / MNT roster call-ups in 2018

With six caps, Steffen tied the MNT record for most appearances by a goalkeeper in their debut year and made eight saves in a friendly against France before their successful run to the 2018 FIFA World Cup title. Steffen also earned MLS Goalkeeper of the Year honors after helping Columbus Crew SC back to the MLS Cup Playoffs. Captain of Columbus Crew SC, 25-year-old Wil Trapp’s veteran presence in midfield served a young MNT group well as he wore the captain’s armband for the U.S. as well in each of his team-leading eight appearances while earning Man of the Match against Paraguay and Peru.

Votes for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards are collected from respective National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2018, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer Athletes’ Council, National Women’s Soccer League head coaches for the WNT and American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches for the MNT, select media members and former players and administrators. In addition, select college coaches vote for the WNT award.

The U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year has been awarded since 1984 when Rick Davis won it. Current U.S. MNT General Manager Earnie Stewart won it in 2001. Landon Donovan holds the record for most awards, winning it four times, while Clint Dempsey won it on three occasions. Then eighteen-year-old Christian Pulisic became the youngest player to win the award in 2017.

Featured Players

See Commitment List