Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Dec 05, 2017

Nominees announced for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – U.S. Soccer has announced the nominees for its 2017 U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards. The winners for Male and Young Male Player of the Year, Female and Young Female Player of the Year and Disabled Player of the Year will be announced throughout the month of December.

The men’s field features forwards Jozy Altidore, Clint Dempsey and Jordan Morris as well as midfielders Michael Bradley and Christian Pulisic. In the Young Male category, the nominees are forwards Josh Sargent and Tim Weah, midfielders Tyler Adams, Luca de la Torre and Jonathan Gonzalez and defender Erik Palmer-Brown.

Female Player of the Year nominees include midfielders Julie Ertz, Lindsey Horan and Samantha Mewis as well as forwards Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe. The Young Female field is made up of forwards Savannah McCaskill and Sophia Smith, midfielders Tierna Davidson and Jaelin Howell and defender Kate Wiesner.

The Disabled Player of the Year nominees include Sean Boyle, Drew Bremer and Kevin Hensley of the Paralympic National Team and Michael Archer of the Power Soccer National Team.

The current voting process was put in place beginning in 2014. Votes will be collected from National Team coaches and staff, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2017, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer’s Athlete Council, professional soccer league coaches, select college head coaches and select media members.

Voting for the candidates closes on Tuesday, Dec. 12 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

The U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year has been awarded since 1984, when midfielder Rick Davis won the inaugural prize and was followed shortly thereafter by the first Female Player of the Year award in 1985, when midfielder Sharon Remer (known then as Sharon McMurtry) earned the inaugural honor. The U.S. Soccer Young Male, Young Female Player of the Year awards have been presented every year since 1998 and the Disabled Player of the Year since 2012.

2017 U.S. Soccer Player of the Year Nominees



Jozy Altidore

Julie Ertz

Michael Bradley

Lindsey Horan

Clint Dempsey

Samantha Mewis

Jordan Morris

Alex Morgan

Christian Pulisic

Megan Rapinoe



Tyler Adams

Tierna Davidson

Luca de la Torre

Jaelin Howell

Jonathan Gonzalez

Savannah McCaskill

Erik Palmer-Brown

Sophia Smith

Josh Sargent

Kate Wiesner

Tim Weah


Sean Boyle

Drew Bremer

Kevin Hensley

Michael Archer