Getting recruited to college soccer is a serious game

Learn about our player profiles here
MLS Oct 06, 2021

Minnesota selected to host 2022 MLS All-Star Game

GOLDEN VALLEY, Minn. – Major League Soccer and Minnesota United announced that the Twin Cities will host the 2022 MLS All-Star Game on Aug. 10 at Allianz Field.

The league’s marquee summer event returns for its 26th edition and will be broadcast on the networks of ESPN and Univision in the U.S., and TSN and TVA Sports in Canada.

The 2022 MLS All-Star Game will be the culmination of a week-long series of events across Minneapolis and Saint Paul, including community initiatives, concerts, parties, the MLS All-Star Skills Challenge and more.

“We are proud to bring the 2022 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target to Minnesota,” said MLS Commissioner Don Garber. “Since the club began play in the league in 2017, Minnesota United and their incredible fan base have played a key role in the continued rise of MLS and growth of our sport throughout the U.S. As the eyes of the soccer world turn to Allianz Field next August 10, the people of Minnesota will be fantastic hosts and the supporters and ‘Wonderwall’ will create a memorable atmosphere for our marquee summer event.”

The match will be hosted at the iconic, state-of-the-art Allianz Field in Saint Paul. The 19,600-seat soccer-specific stadium opened its doors in 2019 to international acclaim. The stadium has a natural grass pitch and was designed with the fan in mind. Features include a 360-degree overhanging roof structure, every seat is within 125 ft. of the pitch, and the building includes a safe-standing, pyramid-shaped supporters’ section for nearly three thousand fans.

The uniqueness of the stadium and the associated experience for both players, clubs and fans has resulted in Allianz Field becoming a highly-sought-after venue for international events, hosting a pair of Concacaf Gold Cup group stage matches in 2019 and an international friendly for the U.S. Women’s National Team later that year. Allianz Field will host an additional friendly between the U.S. Women’s National team and South Korea later this fall.

“We are all extremely excited and honored to see the premier event for soccer in North America coming to the Twin Cities and our state,” said Bill McGuire, the managing partner for Minnesota United FC. “Led by Target and supported by other great Minnesota businesses and our unparalleled fans, this will be an extraordinary event built around a week of wonderful activities for everyone. Soccer is indeed the world’s game, and we look forward to sharing with everyone all that it represents and what makes Allianz Field and the Twin Cities such a great place to experience all that it offers.”

The opponent for Major League Soccer’s showcase event will be announced at a later date.

The match will be the first MLS All-Star Game to be held in the Twin Cities and just the eighth All-Star game to be hosted in Minnesota across the six major men’s and women’s professional sports leagues (MLB: 1965, 1985, 2014; NBA: 1994; NHL: 1972, 2004; WNBA: 2018).

The MLS All-Stars will be led by Minnesota United Head Coach Adrian Heath. The English-born head coach has been coaching in the United States for over a decade and has led the Loons since their arrival in MLS in 2017. Heath has guided MNUFC to the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs in each of the last two seasons, including a narrow defeat in the 2020 Western Conference Final, and a U.S. Open Cup final in 2019.

1996: East 3, West 2 (E. Rutherford, N.J.)
1997: East 5, West 4 (E. Rutherford, N.J.)
1998: MLS USA 6, MLS World 1 (Orlando)
1999: West 6, East 4 (San Diego)
2000: East 9, West 4 (Columbus)
2001: East 6, West 6 (San Jose)
2002: MLS 3, U.S. National Team 2 (Washington, D.C.)
2003: MLS 3, CD Guadalajara 1 (Carson, Calif.)
2004: East 3, West 2 (Washington, D.C.)
2005: MLS 4, Fulham FC 1 (Columbus)
2006: MLS 1, Chelsea FC 0 (Bridgeview, Ill.)
2007: MLS 2, Celtic FC 0 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2008: MLS 3, West Ham United FC 2 (Toronto)
2009: MLS 1, Everton FC 1 (Everton 4-3 pen) (Sandy, Utah)
2010: Manchester United FC 5, MLS 2 (Houston)
2011: Manchester United FC 4, MLS 0 (Harrison, N.J.)
2012: MLS 3, Chelsea FC 2 (Chester, Pa.)
2013: AS Roma 3, MLS 1 (Kansas City)
2014: MLS 2, Bayern Munich 1 (Portland)
2015: MLS 2, Tottenham Hotspur 1 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2016: Arsenal 2, MLS 1 (San Jose)
2017: Real Madrid 1, MLS 1 (Real Madrid 4-2 pen) (Chicago)
2018: Juventus 1, MLS 1 (Juventus 5-4 pen) (Atlanta)
2019: Atlético Madrid 3, MLS 0 (Orlando)
2021: MLS All-Stars 1, LIGA MX All-Stars 1 (MLS All-Stars 3-2 pen) (Los Angeles)

Featured Players

See Commitment List