Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

NCAA Nov 07, 2022

Florida State wins third straight ACC Women’s Soccer Championship, beating UNC 2-1

CARY, N.C. – The second-seeded Florida State Seminoles won their third consecutive Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Soccer Championship with a 2-1 victory against top-seeded North Carolina on Sunday afternoon at WakeMed Soccer Park.

The Seminoles claimed their ninth title and their fourth in the last five years.

Jenna Nighswonger was named Tournament MVP after she scored in the first half and handed out an assist on the eventual game-winner.

The Tar Heels jumped out to the early 1-0 lead in the 23rd minute when senior forward Isabel Cox delivered the ball in the box for junior forward Avery Patterson, who got around two defenders and put the ball into the back of the net.

The Seminoles responded quickly in the 31st minute when Nighswonger scored off an olimpico from the corner. The goal made it 1-1 heading into the halftime break.

FSU’s Jody Brown scored the game winner in the 49th minute when a Nighswonger shot was saved by UNC goalkeeper Emmie Allen, but Brown knocked in the rebound. For Brown, the goal was her seventh of the season.

Florida State goalkeeper Cristina Roque made three key saves and the Seminole defense posted a team save in the final 13 minutes to preserve the win and title.

The Seminoles held a 12-7 margin on shots and a 6-5 mark in shots on goal. FSU posted eight corner kicks, while UNC was held without a corner kick for the match.

ACC teams will now await the NCAA Selection Show on Monday (Nov. 7) afternoon at 4 p.m. and it will be streamed live on

2022 ACC Women’s Soccer All-Tournament Team
Jenna Nighswonger, Florida State (MVP)
Jody Brown, Florida State
Onyi Echegini, Florida State
Beata Olsson, Florida State
Emily Moxley, North Carolina
Avery Patterson, North Carolina
Tori Hansen, North Carolina
Korbin Albert, Notre Dame
Ruthie Jones, Duke
Michelle Cooper, Duke
Kat Rader, Duke

Featured Players

See Commitment List