Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

ECNL Aug 18, 2023

ECNL Boys represented by 19 Gatorade State High School Players of the Year

RICHMOND, Va. – This season, a record setting 19 ECNL Boys players were selected as 2022-23 Gatorade State High School Players of the Year, an honor awarded to the best high school soccer player in each state.

Since 1985, Gatorade has recognized the most outstanding high school student-athletes for their athletic excellence, academic achievement, and exemplary character.

The 2022-23 season marks the fifth consecutive time ECNL Boys has seen a record number of players selected, following the 16 that were selected last season. See below for a full listing of ECNL winners.

State Player Club
California Simon Vaca-Lorenzi Davis Legacy
Connecticut Lucas Almeida FSA FC
Delaware T.J. Hastings Sporting Delaware
Florida Max May Space Coast United
Iowa Jackson Kirsch VSA Rush
Kentucky Travis Smith Louisville City Academy
Maryland Ben Madore Pipeline SC
Michigan Kyle Pierson Michigan Wolves
Minnesota Joe Highfield Minnesota Thunder Academy
Nebraska Michael Stukenholtz Gretna Elite Academy
New Mexico Finnegan Saunders Rio Rapids
North Carolina Joseph Abdenour NCFC Youth
Ohio Nolan Spicer Spire SC
South Carolina Duncan Wilson South Carolina United
South Dakota Zack Williams Rio Rapids
Tennessee Lucas Nordin FC Alliance
Texas Aidan Morrison Albion Hurricanes FC
Virginia Edric Zhang NC Fusion
Washington Alex Harris Washington Timbers