Getting recruited to college soccer is a serious game

Learn about our player profiles here
NCAA Aug 23, 2021

Big Ten men’s soccer 2021 Preseason Poll and Players to Watch unveiled

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Indiana is the unanimous preseason choice to win the 2021 Big Ten Conference men’s soccer championship, according to a poll of the Big Ten coaches released Monday.

The three-time defending Big Ten regular season and tournament champion Hoosiers, who have won 16 conference titles, were selected first in the 2021 Big Ten preseason poll by the conference’s nine head coaches. Penn State, last season’s Big Ten runner-up, finished second in this year’s preseason poll, while Michigan was chosen third. Rounding out the top five in the team balloting were Maryland and Michigan State.

Also on Monday, the conference unveiled the 2021 Big Ten Players to Watch List, as selected by the conference coaches. Highlighting the list are 15 individuals who earned conference recognition in 2020-21, including seven first-team All-Big Ten selections in Indiana’s Victor Bezerra, Roman Celentano and Spencer Glass; Michigan’s Marc Ybarra; Ohio State’s Laurence Wootton; and Penn State’s Danny Bloyou and Pierre Reedy.

Bezerra was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year in 2020-21, while Celentano was the Goalkeeper of the Year, Ybarra received Midfielder of the Year accolades and Wootton was tabbed the Freshman of the Year. Bezerra and Celentano were also named the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Big Ten Tournament, respectively.

The 2021 Big Ten men’s soccer season kicks off this weekend, with seven teams opening play on Thursday and the remaining two making their 2021 debut on Friday.

The complete 2021 Big Ten Men’s Soccer Preseason Poll and Players to Watch List can be found below:

2. Penn State
3. Michigan
4. Maryland
5. Michigan State
6. Rutgers
7. Ohio State
8. Northwestern
9. Wisconsin
Unanimous selection listed in ALL CAPS


  • Victor Bezerra, Jr., F, Indiana
  • Roman Celentano, Jr., GK, Indiana
  • Spencer Glass, Sr., D, Indiana
  • Ben Bender, So., M, Maryland
  • Malcolm Johnston, Jr., M, Maryland
  • Brett St. Martin, Sr., D, Maryland
  • Bryce Blevins, So., M, Michigan
  • Quin Rogers, So., M, Michigan
  • Marc Ybarra, Sr., M, Michigan
  • Michael Miller, Sr., M, Michigan State
  • Hunter Morse, Sr., GK, Michigan State
  • Farai Mutatu, Sr., F, Michigan State
  • Richard Bennett, Sr., M, Northwestern
  • Vincente Castro, Jr., M, Northwestern
  • Jose Del Valle, Jr., F, Northwestern
  • Xavier Green, Sr., M, Ohio State
  • Deylen Vellios, So., D, Ohio State
  • Laurence Wootton, So., M, Ohio State
  • Danny Bloyou, Sr., F, Penn State
  • Peter Mangione, So., F, Penn State
  • Pierre Reedy, Sr., M, Penn State
  • Oren Asher, Jr., GK, Rutgers
  • Pablo Ávila, Sr., M, Rutgers
  • Ritchie Barry, Sr., F, Rutgers
  • Andrew Akindele, Sr., F, Wisconsin
  • Tim Bielic, So., M, Wisconsin
  • Moritz Kappelsberger, Sr., D, Wisconsin

Featured Players

Midfielder, Forward
See Commitment List