Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Youth Girls Jul 25, 2012

Women’ Super-20 All-Tournament Team announced, Price named Finals’ MVP

The Super-20 League announced its 2012 North American Finals All-Tournament Team, honoring Colorado Rapids forward Karisa Price as the Finals’ Most Valuable Player for leading her team to the championship this past weekend at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.

Price scored four goals in group play and assisted the game-winning goal in the Final for Colorado, just missing out on the Golden Boot Award. Her tireless work-rate in tracking back defensively and chasing down every loose ball stood out to observers. She is joined on the All-Tournament Team by two teammates: defender Renee Hurd and Safe Hands Award-winning goalkeeper Hannah Clark. USL National Technical Director Peter Mellor characterized the three players’ performances throughout the tournament as vital to the Rapids’ championship.

“Renee is very tactically aware,” Mellor said. “She was able to win the ball and knew where to go with it. Karisa Price’s energy and ability to beat defenders and go to goal are invaluable assets. She exemplified everything one would expect in an MVP.”

D.C. United, which lost to Colorado in the Final 1-0, is represented on the All-Tournament Team by defender Mónica Mendes, midfielder Lindsey Lane, and Golden Boot Award-winner Stephanie Hamilton. Hamilton recorded four goals and two assists, including a hat trick in D.C.’s 5-1 win against TSF Academy. Mendes scored the late, game-winning goal in United’s first group match against the Ottawa Fury and was part of a back line that conceded only five times in four games.

Defender Marisa Kozikowski and midfielder Julianne Boyle helped Force Football Club Academy remain undefeated during group play, as Boyle scored two goals and Kozikowski linked play from the back well. Midfielder Emily Gingrich of Reading United AC recorded two goals and an assist and put in three outstanding performances for the Mid Atlantic Division club.

Triangle FC forward Ashley Clark could not help her team to a back-to-back championship, but was able to score two important goals to keep Triangle from an early exit. Midfielder Sydney Braun-McLeod was a constant threat to the Ottawa Fury’s opposition with her speed, earning her berth to the All-Tournament Team based on her group-play performance.

Women’s Super-20 League All-Tournament Team

GK – Hannah Clark, Colorado Rapids
D – Renee Hurd, Colorado Rapids
D – Mónica Mendes, D.C. United Women
D – Marisa Kozikowski, Force Football Club Academy
M – Julianne Boyle, Force Football Club Academy
M – Emily Gingrich, Reading United AC
M – Lindsey Lane, D.C. United Women
M – Sydney Braun-McLeod, Ottawa Fury
F – Ashley Clark, Triangle FC
F – Stephanie Hamilton, D.C. United Women
F – Karisa Price, Colorado Rapids

Featured Players

See Commitment List