Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Apr 05, 2019

U.S. WNT 1999 World Cup winners to be honored Sunday

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – The 1999 U.S. Women’s World Cup Team that captured the hearts and minds of a nation during a remarkable summer 20 years ago will be honored at halftime of the USA-Belgium match on April 7 at Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles (6 p.m. PT on ESPN2).

U.S. Soccer invited the entire team to Los Angeles to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the team’s historic run through the tournament that ended on July 10, 1999, with a dramatic penalty kick victory against China PR as Carla Overbeck, Joy Fawcett, Kristine Lilly, Mia Hamm and Brandi Chastain – in that order — buried their kicks to send a crowd of 90,125 fans at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., and millions more around the USA, into a patriotic frenzy. The crowd is still a record for largest attendance ever to witness a women’s soccer match.

In addition, at the invitation of the U.S. Women’s National Team Players Association, around 40 other former U.S. WNT players will be in attendance for a weekend that will include various events for the players to reunite and celebrate women’s sports and the long-time success of the U.S. Women’s National Team ahead of this summer’s 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

The members of the 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup championship team that will be attendance are: goalkeepers Briana Scurry, Tracy Noonan, Saskia Webber; defenders Christie Pearce, Brandi Chastain, Sara Whalen (now Hess), Joy Fawcett and Kate Sobrero (now Markgraf); midfielders Tiffany Roberts (now Sahaydak), Lorrie Fair, Julie Foudy, Kristine Lilly (now Heavey), Tisha Venturini (now Hoch) and Michelle Akers; and forwards Shannon MacMillan, Mia Hamm (now Garciaparra), U.S. Soccer Vice President Cindy Parlow (now Cone) and Danielle Fotopoulos. Only team captain Carla Overbeck and Tiffeny Milbrett were unable to attend.

Featured Players

Midfielder, Forward
See Commitment List