Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Jan 22, 2016

U.S. U-19 MNT roster named for Copa de Atlantico tournament

Strikers Logo

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – U.S. Under-19 head coach Brad Friedel has named a 23-player roster for the Copa de Athletico tournament in Canary Islands, Spain, the team’s first tournament of 2016.

The competition runs from Jan. 27- Feb. 6. This will be the first tournament for Friedel since being named head coach of the U-19 team earlier this month.

The call-up will be the first Youth National Team involvement for 10 players: John Denis, Benjamin Hale, Simon Lekressner, David Longo, Djordje Mihailovic, Hector Montalvo, Edwin Munjoma, Paxton Pomykal, Grant Robinson and Ethan Zubak. Every player on the roster is currently registered with a U.S. Soccer Development Academy team.

+Read: Thirty-six players called to U.S. U-18 MNT training camp

All players on the roster were born in ’98 and could potentially earn a spot on the U.S. U-20 squad that will play in the 2017 CONCACAF U-20 Championship in Nicaragua with the aim of gaining a berth for the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup in South Korea.

U-19 MNT Copa de Atlantico Tournament Schedule:
Feb. 2 – 1:30 p.m. ET

U.S. U-19 MNT vs. Spain
Municipal Maspalomas; Las Palmas, Spain

Feb. 3 – 11 a.m. ET
U.S. U-19 MNT vs. France
Campo Alfonso Silva; Las Palmas, Spain

Feb. 5 – 11 a.m. ET
U.S. U-19 MNT vs. Canary Islands
Campo Alfonso Silva; Las Palmas, Spain

Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (3): Benjamin Hale (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), William Pulisic (Richmond United; Mechaniscville, Va.), Kevin Silva (PDA; Bethlehem, Pa.)

DEFENDERS (8): Reginald Cannon (FC Dallas; Grapevine, Texas), Tanner Dieterich (RSL Arizona; Nashville, Tenn.), David Longo (Weston FC; Weston, Fla.), Hector Montalvo (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Edwin Munjoma (FC Dallas), John Nelson (Internationals Soccer Club; Medina, Ohio), Grant Robinson (DC United), Auston Trusty (Philadelphia Union; Media, Pa.)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Eric Calvillo (Real SoCal; Palmdale, Calif.), Pierre Da Silva (Orlando City SC; Port Chester, N.Y.), John Denis (Beachside SC; Yorktown Heights, N.Y.), McKinze Gaines II (Lonestar SC; Austin Texas), David Loera (Orlando City SC; Orlando, Fla.), Terrell Lowe (Portland Timbers; Hillsboro, Ore.), Weston McKinnie (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Djordje Mihailovic (Chicago Fire; Lemont, Ill.), Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas; Highland Village, Texas)

FORWARDS (3): Simon Lekressner (Crossfire Premier; Bellevue, Wash.), Brian Saramago (New York Red Bulls; Garden City Park, N.Y.), Ethan Zubak (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.)