Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Coaching Jan 20, 2020

Rusty Oglesby elected to United Soccer Coaches Board of Directors

BALTIMORE, Md. — It was announced on Friday at the United Soccer Coaches Convention in Baltimore that Rusty Oglesby has been elected to the association’s Board of Directors.

Oglesby will serve a six-year term on the United Soccer Coaches Board of Directors. He will hold the title of Vice President for four years, before serving one year each as President and Immediate Past President.

“I’m truly honored to be the next Vice President of United Soccer Coaches,” said Oglesby. “I can’t thank everyone enough, especially my Advocacy Council strategic group, the members that came out to vote for both candidates, and especially the Board of Directors. Their support has been outstanding through this entire process. I’m looking forward to what the future holds for United Soccer Coaches and am excited for the opportunity to serve the membership.”

Oglesby has been a United Soccer Coaches member since 2013 and currently serves as head boys’ coach at John Paul II High School in Plano, Texas as well as the General Manager of the Denton Diablos in the NPSL. He has been a head coach at the high school level in Texas for 20 years. He serves as the United Soccer Coaches Chair of the High School Advocacy Group and has been involved with the group since its inception in 2015.

He spent 11 years coaching at the youth club level in and around the Dallas area and was TASCO (Texas Association of Soccer Coaches) President in 2014.

Oglesby will officially join the Board of Directors on Sunday, Jan. 19 at the Convention in Baltimore.

The United Soccer Coaches Board of Directors is led by the following 10 members of the association, including six individuals elected by the membership, three at-large representatives appointed by the President and the Advocacy Council Chair.

Immediate Past President: Jeff Farnsworth
President: Kevin Sims
First Vice President: Dr. Missy Price
Second Vice President: Ashlee Fontes-Comber
Third Vice President: Dr. David Carr
Fourth Vice President: Rusty Oglesby
At-Large Representative: Warren Mersereau
At-Large Representative: Andy Haile
At-Large Representative: Haroot Hakopian
Advocacy Council Chair: Sue Ryan

In addition, United Soccer Coaches CEO Lynn Berling-Manuel is a non-voting member of the Board of Directors.