Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Tournaments Aug 03, 2012

Region II U.S. Youth Soccer Championships awarded to Des Moines

U.S. Youth Soccer is proud to announce that Des Moines, Iowa and Iowa Soccer Association as hosts of the 2013 U.S. Youth Soccer Region II (Midwest) Championships as part of the U.S. Youth Soccer National Championship Series, the country’s most prestigious national youth soccer tournament. The games will take place at the James W. Cownie Sports Complex.

The championships are expected to draw more than 3,500 players and an estimated 12,000 spectators.

The U.S. Youth Soccer Region II Championships consist of US Youth Soccer State Champions from 14 states, including the host Iowa Soccer Association, drawn wildcard entries as well as U.S. Youth Soccer Midwest Regional League Premier Division wildcard teams. Following individual state championship tournaments, the regional championships are the second leg of the U.S. Youth Soccer National Championship Series.

The tournament will attract more than 212 boys and girls teams, ages Under-13 through Under-19, from the 14 Midwestern U.S. Youth Soccer State Associations that make up U.S. Youth Soccer Region II (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio South, Ohio North, South Dakota and Wisconsin).

“It is always exciting to begin planning future U.S. Youth Soccer Regional Championships, and part of that initial planning is choosing the best possible host city for each of our four regional championships,” said John Sutter, President of U.S. Youth Soccer. “Des Moines was a great host for the 2007 U.S. Youth Soccer Region II Championships, and we look forward to working with them again in 2013 for an even better tournament.”

Regional winners of the Under-13 through Under-19 brackets earn a berth to the 2013 U.S. Youth Soccer National Championships.

Region II (Midwest) – Des Moines, Iowa
James W. Cownie Sports Complex
Registration: June 21
Round Robin: June 22-24
Semis: June 25
Finals: June 26