Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

USMNT Apr 17, 2023

Paxton Pomykal added to USMNT roster for inaugural Continental Clásico

CHICAGO – Paxton Pomykal has been added to the USMNT roster for the inaugural Continental Clásico, as forward Paul Arriola and midfielder Cristian Roldan have been withdrawn.

The 75th edition of the USA-Mexico rivalry is set for Wednesday, April 19 in Glendale, Ariz., with the match broadcast live on TBS, Telemundo and Universo and streamed on HBO Max and Peacock. Coverage begins at 10 p.m. ET, with kickoff at 10:22 p.m.

Arriola is experiencing tightness in his right hamstring and is being kept out as a precaution, while Roldan has entered the concussion return to play protocol after being diagnosed late last week.

Pomykal, 23, made his first appearance for the USMNT on Sept. 10, 2019, against Uruguay. The midfielder earned his first start on Jan. 25, 2023, in the friendly against Serbia.

The BioSteel training camp roster features eight players from the USMNT’s successful run at the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar, while 10 players come into camp with less than five USMNT appearances, including four young rising stars age-eligible for next summer’s Olympic Games.

With the match falling outside of the designated international calendar, clubs are not required to release players for national team duty. The USA’s roster for the Allstate Continental Clásico features 20 players based in domestic competition and two plying their trade abroad: AC Milan defender Sergiño Dest and FC Juárez midfielder Alan Soñora.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Drake Callender (Inter Miami; 0/0), Roman Celentano (FC Cincinnati; 0/0), Sean Johnson (Toronto FC/CAN; 11/0)

DEFENDERS (9): Sergiño Dest (AC Milan/ITA; 24/2), Aaron Long (LAFC; 31/3), Julian Gressel (Vancouver Whitecaps/CAN; 2/0), Matt Miazga (FC Cincinnati; 22/1), Shaq Moore (Nashville SC; 17/1), Caleb Wiley (Atlanta United; 0/0), Josh Wynder (Louisville City; 0/0), DeAndre Yedlin (Inter Miami; 77/0), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC; 39/3)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Kellyn Acosta (LAFC; 57/2), Aidan Morris (Columbus Crew; 2/0), Paxton Pomykal (FC Dallas; 2/0), James Sands (New York City FC; 7/0), Alan Soñora (FC Juárez/MEX; 2/0), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; 16/0)

FORWARDS (4): Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes; 2/0), Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas; 17/7), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders; 51/11), Brandon Vazquez (FC Cincinnati; 2/1)