Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

MLS NEXT Jul 02, 2024

MLS NEXT All-Star Game rosters revealed, with nation’s top players facing off in Ohio

NEW YORK – MLS NEXT today announced the player selections, details, and broadcast information for the third annual MLS NEXT All-Star Game.

The game will showcase North America’s top young players in an East vs. West matchup at Historic Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio on Tuesday, July 23 at 11:30 a.m. ET and stream live on . Admission to the game is free, as fans in Columbus can watch the future stars of MLS take center stage during MLS All-Star week.

Among the 44 players who will compete in the match, more than half have progressed to sign Homegrown deals or appear in MLS NEXT Pro. Notable Homegrown players selected as 2024 MLS NEXT All-Stars include FC Cincinnati’s Stefan Chirila, the Philadelphia Union’s Cavan Sullivan, and St. Louis CITY SC’s Tyson Pearce. Of the previous MLS NEXT All-Stars, more than 70% have gone on to be called up by their respective Youth National Teams and three have already made Senior National Team appearances – Inter Miami’s Benjamin Cremaschi (United States), the New England Revolution’s Esmir Bajraktarevic (United States), and Olger Escobar (Guatemala).

“Throughout the season, these 44 players from both MLS and MLS NEXT Elite Academies have consistently stood out as the best young prospects in our program,” said MLS NEXT Technical Director Luis Robles. “The players and clubs should be proud of their accomplishments this year and we look forward to a highly competitive match in Columbus on July 23.”

MLS NEXT and Allstate will provide the players with unique opportunities during MLS All-Star Week, which will include a full slate of programming events and activities in advance of the match. The players will be fully immersed in MLS All-Star Week festivities, which include team training, the All-Star Skills Challenge on July 23, and the MLS All-Star Game on July 24. Each MLS NEXT All-Star team will also conduct their own training sessions leading up to their match on Tuesday morning.

“We’re proud to support North American soccer’s top young talent,” said Dan Keats, director of sponsorships and engagement marketing at Allstate. “This event provides a platform for these rising stars to showcase their skills and compete at the highest level.”

The 44 players were selected following the conclusion of the 2024 MLS NEXT Cup Playoffs and Showcase. To be eligible for selection, players must have been born between 2007-2009, have competed in the MLS NEXT regular season, and played in at least one of the MLS NEXT premier events this season – MLS NEXT Fest, MLS NEXT Flex, Generation adidas Cup, or the MLS NEXT Cup Playoffs and Showcase.

MLS NEXT All-Star Game Rosters

East Team
Player Club Birth Year
Adyn Torres Atlanta United 2007
Sergey Balatsko BW Gottschee 2007
Stefan Chirila FC Cincinnati 2007
Jayson Quintanilla Charlotte FC 2007
Simon Tonidandel Charlotte FC 2007
Vitaliy Hlyut Chicago Fire FC 2008
Chase Adams Columbus Crew 2008
Tristan Brown Columbus Crew 2007
Gavin Turner D.C. United 2007
Liam Briscoe FC DELCO 2008
Michael Capretto FC DELCO 2008
Cai McLean Inter Miami CF 2008
Felix Samson CF Montréal 2007
Chris Applewhite Nashville SC 2007
Damario McIntosh New England Revolution 2007
Drew Baiera New York City FC 2007
Colin Guske Orlando City SC 2007
Juan Rojas Orlando City SC 2008
Diego Rocio Philadelphia Union 2007
Cavan Sullivan Philadelphia Union 2009
Lucas Ferreira PDA 2007
Pablo Patrick-Galvez Toronto FC 2007
West Team
Player Club Birth Year
Anthony Boyadjian ALBION SC 2007
Gavin Wolff Austin FC 2008
Joshua Sosa Barca Residency Academy 2007
Miguel Alvarado Colorado Rapids 2008
Zackory Campagnolo Colorado Rapids 2007
Leo Orejarena FC Dallas 2007
Isaac Mwakutuya Houston Dynamo FC 2007
Ian James Sporting Kansas City 2008
DeCarlo Guerra LAFC 2008
Pedro Guimaraes LAFC 2008
Jose ‘Pepe’ Magana Jr. LA Galaxy 2007
Owen Pratt LA Galaxy 2008
Mateo Tsakiris LA Galaxy 2008
Darius Randell Minnesota United FC 2007
Max Eisenberg Portland Timbers 2007
Luca Moisa Real Salt Lake 2008
Tomo Allen San Jose Earthquakes 2007
Rohan Rajagopal San Jose Earthquakes 2007
Etienne Veillard Seattle Sounders FC 2007
Tyson Pearce St. Louis CITY SC 2007
Skylar Kaplan Strikers FC 2007
Liam Mackenzie Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2007

The two teams will compete in an East vs. West format at Historic Crew Stadium in Columbus Ohio on the day before the MLS All-Star Game, Tuesday, July 23. Nine clubs had multiple selections, including the LA Galaxy, which had a game-high three selections, who were all members of their U17 side that won MLS NEXT Cup in 2024. For the first time in the game’s history, six different MLS NEXT Elite Academies will also be represented in Columbus: Albion SC Los Angeles, Barca Residency Academy, BW Gottschee, FC DELCO, Players Development Academy, and Strikers FC. FC DELCO has two representatives – Liam Briscoe and Michael Capretto – the first time an Elite Academy has had multiple selections in the same year.

MLS NEXT also advised on the selection of the coaching staff for both East and West teams. The head coach of the East team will be Columbus Crew director of player development Dan Lock. Lock joined Columbus in June 2022 and has served an integral role in the Crew’s player development pathway that has resulted in a 2023 MLS Cup, 2022 MLS NEXT Pro Cup, and an appearance in the final of 2023 MLS NEXT Pro Cup. Prior to Columbus, Lock served as the academy manager and U17 head coach for Charlotte FC from 2020-22 as well as in a variety of coaching roles with Seattle Sounders FC from 2016-20.

The West head coach will be LA Galaxy U17 head coach Shaun Tsakiris, who recently became the first coach to win the U17 age group of MLS NEXT Cup twice (2023 and 2024). Through Tsakiris’ leadership, he has helped develop young Galaxy talents like Harbor Miller, Ruben Ramos Jr., and the joint MLS NEXT-record three players in this year’s game. Tsakiris was previously the U.S. U16 Youth National Team head coach from 2016-18 and is currently an assistant for the U.S. U20 Youth National Team.

Admission to the MLS NEXT All-Star Game at Historic Crew Stadium is free of cost. Fans are highly encouraged to park in the VIP lot (near Gate 4 and 5) and G Lot, and more information on parking directions can be found HERE.

Featured Players

Midfielder, Forward
Forward, Midfielder
See Commitment List