Getting recruited to college soccer is a serious game

Learn about our player profiles here
+ ADD A PLAYER

George Washington women’s soccer announces 2015 schedule

WASHINGTON (Via George Washington University) – The George Washington women’s soccer team will host nine opponents in 2015 and face 10 more on the road during a 19-match schedule this fall, fourth-year head coach Sarah Barnes announced on Wednesday.

The Colonials look to vie for a conference crown, after reaching back-to-back Atlantic 10 Championships for the first time since 1997-98, with the help of a strong schedule that features a top-25 opponent and a pair of NCAA Championship qualifiers from a year ago.

“Our program has made great strides over the last few seasons, and we have another strong schedule lined up this fall,” said Coach Barnes. “Our non-conference schedule will allow us to keep growing and prepare us for our A-10 slate.”

The Buff and Blue visit local foe American for an exhibition match on Wednesday, Aug. 12 at 5 p.m. for a tune-up before regular season play begins.

GW will open its season in Fullerton, California, for a pair of matches against first-time opponents on the West Coast, beginning with a game against UC Riverside at 5 p.m. PDT on Friday, Aug. 21. Two days later, on Aug. 23, the Colonials will take on reigning Big West Conference champion and NCAA Championship qualifier Cal State Fullerton at 1:30 p.m. PDT.

The Colonials return to the GW Soccer Field on the Mount Vernon campus for a pair of games as they host East Carolina in the 2015 home opener on Sunday, Aug. 30 at 1 p.m. and Drexel on Friday, Sept. 4 at 3 p.m. The Buff and Blue then head to cross-town rival Georgetown on Thursday, Sept. 10 for a 4 p.m. battle with last year’s No. 24 squad in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Top-25 Poll. The Hoyas reached the second round of the NCAA Championship in 2014 for the second straight season.

GW will visit the University of Delaware for a 3 p.m. bout on Sunday, Sept. 13 before hosting a pair of matches against Liberty (Sept. 17, 3 p.m.) and Delaware State (Sept. 20, 1 p.m.). The squad wraps non-conference action in Baltimore, Maryland, on Thursday, Sept. 24 in a 7 p.m. game against UMBC.

The Colonials open Atlantic 10 Conference play when they welcome St. Joseph’s to the GW Soccer Field on the Mount Vernon Campus on Thursday, Oct. 1 for a 3 p.m. start before traveling to St. Bonaventure for a 1 p.m. clash on Sunday, Oct. 4.

“The A-10 continues to be a strong conference, and we’re lined up to face three of the top four regular season finishers from last season,” said Coach Barnes. “Our level of play last year was on par with the top of the conference, and we look to pick up right where we left off.”

The Colonials will host La Salle and Massachusetts on Thursday, Oct. 8 (3 p.m.) and Sunday, Oct.11 (1 p.m.), respectively, before the Buff and Blue travel to Richmond, Virginia, to take on VCU on Thursday, Oct. 15 at 7 p.m. and Richmond on Sunday, Oct. 18 at 1 p.m. On Thursday, Oct. 22, Fordham visits the GW Soccer Field for a 3 p.m. matchup. The Colonials then finish their regular season road schedule with visits to Revolutionary Rival George Mason on Sunday, Oct. 25 at 1 p.m. and Rhode Island on Thursday, Oct. 29 at 7 p.m. GW completes its home slate on Sunday, Nov. 1 against Saint Louis in a 1 p.m. face-off.

The 2015 Atlantic 10 Championship will be held from Thursday, Nov. 5 – Sunday, Nov. 8 at Davidson’s Alumni Soccer Stadium.

Featured Players

Defender
See Commitment List