Getting recruited to college soccer is a serious game

Learn about our player profiles here
USMNT Dec 07, 2020

Forward Sebastian Soto joins USMNT training camp ahead of Wednesday’s match

CHICAGO – Telstar forward Sebastian Soto has been added to the USMNT training camp roster. His addition takes the total number of players in camp to 24.

The USMNT will host El Salvador on Dec. 9 at Inter Miami CF Stadium in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Kickoff for the USMNT’s first match at the home of Inter Miami CF is set for 7:30 p.m. ET and the match will be broadcast live on an ESPN Network, UniMás and TUDN.

Soto, 20, earned his first call-up to the USMNT last month and made a memorable debut in the match against Panama on Nov. 16 in Wiener Neustadt, Austria. Entering the match in the 77th minute, the San Diego native headed home his first two international goals to push the USMNT to a 6-2 win. With the feat, he became just the fifth player to register a brace in a USMNT debut and second to do so off the bench.

Soto led the USA with four goals at the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Poland, tied for second at the tournament, and signed for English Championship club Norwich City last July. He joined Dutch Eerste Divisie side Telstar on loan in August, where his six goals and nine matches currently have him tied for the team’s scoring lead.

The striker was cleared by his club to join the National Team since he is currently serving a suspension following a red card received in Telstar’s last league match.

Twenty-two players are currently eligible to participate in the match against El Salvador. Because Efrain Alvarez (Mexico) and Andrés Perea (Colombia) have represented different countries in official youth competitions, both players would need to file a one-time change of association to represent the United States.


GOALKEEPERS (3): CJ Dos Santos (Benfica/POR; 0/0), Bill Hamid (D.C. United; 7/0), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes; 0/0)

DEFENDERS (8): Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy; 0/0), Kyle Duncan (New York Red Bulls; 0/0), Marco Farfan (Portland Timbers; 0/0), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls; 17/3), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union; 1/0), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire; 0/0), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; 1/0), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC; 12/2)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; 1/0), Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids; 23/2), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids; 0/0), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 16/3), Andrés Perea (Orlando City SC; 0/0)^, Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; 0/0)

FORWARDS (7): Ayo Akinola (Toronto FC/CAN; 0/0), Efrain Alvarez (LA Galaxy; 0/0)^, Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 33/5), Daryl Dike (Orlando City SC; 0/0), Djordje Mihailovic (Chicago Fire; 5/1), Chris Mueller (Orlando City SC; 0/0), Sebastian Soto (Telstar/NED; 1/2)

^ Currently ineligible to represent the U.S. Men’s National Team.

Featured Players

See Commitment List