Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Coaching Oct 12, 2021

Fifth annual High School Coach of Significance Award winners announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – United Soccer Coaches, along with the association’s High School Coaches Advocacy Group announced the recipients of the fifth annual High School Coach of Significance Award.

The High School Coach of Significance Award recognizes members who are coaching for character and using the soccer field to teach life lessons at the high school level. It is an opportunity for each state, in conjunction with United Soccer Coaches, to recognize coaches who are making an impact within their schools and communities well beyond their records of wins and losses.

Recipients of the 2021 High School Coach of Significance Award are listed alphabetically by state:

State Honoree High School City
Alabama Jeremy Hampton Tuscaloosa Academy Tuscaloosa
Arizona Andrew Barber Highland Gilbert
Arkansas Michael Klucher North Little Rock North Little Rock
Colorado Kevin Ray Fountain Valley School Colorado Springs
Connecticut Paul Winstanley Joel Barlow Redding
Florida Kevin Schoensee Canterbury Ft. Myers
Georgia Daniel Klinect Parkview Lilburn
Idaho Richard Whitelaw Sun Valley Community Sun Valley
Illinois Michael Robey Arthur Christian Arthur
Indiana Jerry Little North Central Indianapolis
Kansas Kyle Conley Louisburg louisburg
Kentucky Lisa Correa Bowling Green Bowling Green
Louisiana John Carriere Lafayette Lafayette
Maine Kurt Swanbeck Hebron Academy Hebron
Maryland Jeff Colsh Middletown Middletown
Massachusetts Evren Gunduz Dover-Sherborn Regional Dover
Michigan Evan Baker Waterford Mott Westland
Minnesota Reuben Ndely Minneapolis Washburn Minneapolis
Mississippi Luke Smith Clarkdale Meridan
Missouri Wade Vandelicht Southern Boone Ashland
Nebraska Mike Ziola Waverly Waverly
New Hampshire Peter Lally Manchester Central Manchester
New Jersey Bill Mulvihill Moorestown Moorestown
New Mexico Greg Rusk Sue Cleveland Rio Rancho
New York Jesseca Kulesa Hauppauge Hauppauge
North Carolina Jeffrey Dresser Carmel Christian Matthews
Ohio Mahamoud Samantar Northland columbus
Pennsylvania Michael Missmer Northampton Area Northampton
Tennessee Gordon Heins Knoxville Catholic Knoxville
Texas Kent Ackmann Princeton Princeton
Virginia Robert O’Brien Jamestown Williamsburg
Wisconsin JohnBurke Foran New Berlin
Wyoming Rebecca Valdez Cheyenne East Cheyenne

The fifth annual class represents a total of 33 states. The goal is to annually recognize a recipient from all 50 states.

Each of the High School Coach of Significance Award nominees are reviewed by the selection committee comprised of national, regional, and state representation.

Featured Players

See Commitment List