Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Feb 02, 2016

Evans, Orozco return to club teams as USMNT camp winds down

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – U.S. head coach Jurgen Klinsmann made two changes to the January camp roster following the team’s 3-2 win against Iceland, releasing defenders Brad Evans and Michael Orozco back to their respective clubs.

Evans experienced tightness in his hamstring during the victory and is being removed as a precaution in order to be ready for preseason with his club Seattle Sounders FC. Per an agreement with Club Tijuana, Orozco was only scheduled to play against Iceland and returned to his team following the match.

+Read: USMNT earns 3-2 comeback win over Iceland on Sunday

Evans started at right back and Orozco started in central defense in Sunday’s 3-2 win against Iceland to open the MNT’s 2016 campaign at StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. Evans was replaced at halftime while Orozco played the full 90 and tallied his fourth career international goal in the 59th minute to tie the game at 2-2.

The now annual training camp, which began on Jan. 11 and runs through Feb. 6 contains a mix of Senior Team members and a host of players age-eligible for the U-23 MNT. The roster heading into the team’s match on Friday, Feb. 5 against Canada at StubHub Center stands at 24-players. Kick-off is set for 7:15 p.m. PT, and the game will be broadcast live on FS1, UniMas and Univision Deportes Network.

U.S. Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (3): David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

DEFENDERS (7): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Eric Miller (Montreal Impact), Tim Parker (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Jermaine Jones (Unattached), Perry Kitchen (Unattached), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Tony Tchani (Columbus Crew SC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Ethan Finlay (Columbus Crew SC), Jerome Kiesewetter (VfB Stuttgart), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Khiry Shelton (New York City FC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

Featured Players

See Commitment List