Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Jan 25, 2017

Defender Jorge Villafaña called to U.S. Men’s National Team camp

LOS ANGELES (Via U.S. Soccer) – U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Bruce Arena has called Santos Laguna defender Jorge Villafaña into January Camp.

An MLS Cup champion with Portland Timbers in 2015, the left back has made 26 Liga MX appearances since joining Santos Laguna at the start of 2016. The summons marks Villafaña’s first call-up to MNT camp and brings Arena’s roster to 29 players. The inaugural winner of Sueñio MLS, Villafaña formerly appeared for the USA as part of the U-23 MNT’s bid to reach the 2012 Olympics.

+Read: Acosta, Hedges, Manneh depart from USMNT training camp

The U.S. begins its 2017 campaign with a friendly against Serbia on Jan. 29 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, Calif. Kickoff for Arena’s first match back in charge of the U.S. MNT is set for 1 p.m. PT, and will be broadcast live on ESPN2 and UniMas.

Five days later, the MNT will make its first visit to Chattanooga, Tenn., on Feb. 3 when they host regional rival Jamaica. Kickoff in front of an expected capacity crowd of 20,000 at Finley Stadium is set for 7 p.m. ET, and the match will be broadcast live on FS1 and UniMas (simulcast on UDN).

Updated Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (4): David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls), Brian Rowe (LA Galaxy)

DEFENDERS (10): DaMarcus Beasley (Unattached),Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Taylor Kemp (D.C. United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna, MEX) Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (LA Galaxy), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS (5): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

Featured Players

See Commitment List