Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on


United Soccer Coaches announce MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List (Men)

Strikers Logo

(Via NSCAA) – United Soccer Coaches (formerly the NSCAA) and the Missouri Athletic Club announced today the 61 NCAA Division I players named to the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year. This year’s winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 5, 2018 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

+READ: United Soccer Coaches announce MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List (Women)

Florida Gulf Coast University senior Albert Ruiz and University of Maryland junior Gordon Wild were MAC Hermann Trophy finalists a year ago and they lead a group of 31 players on the Men’s Watch List for the upcoming 2017 season. Fourteen of the 31 players were United Soccer Coaches All-Americans in 2016, including senior teammates Tomas Hilliard-Arce and Foster Langsdorf from back-to-back national champions Stanford University.

The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Fifteen semifinalists will be named for both the men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches and from those candidates, three finalists will ultimately be placed on the ballot for the coveted award.

2017 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Marcelo Acuna Sr. F Virginia Tech San Jose, Costa Rica
Mo Adams So. M Syracuse Nottingham, England
Will Bagrou Sr. F Mercer Dacula, Ga.
Siggi Benonysson So. F High Point Vestmannaeyjar, Iceland
Tristan Blackmon Sr. F Pacific Las Vegas, Nev.
Cory Brown Sr. D Xavier Nelson, New Zealand
Antonio Bustamante Jr. M William and Mary Springfield, Va.
Mauro Cichero Sr. M SMU Norman, Okla.
Brad Dunwell Jr. M Wake Forest Grand Rapids, Mich.
Sam Gainford Sr. F Akron Liverpool, England
Jon Gallagher Sr. F Notre Dame Dundalk, Ireland
Tomas Hilliard-Arce Sr. D Stanford Matthews, N.C.
Paul Hoffmeister Sr. M Utah Valley Hilden, Germany
Niki Jackson Sr. F Grand Canyon University Scottsdale, Ariz.
Tim Kubel Sr. D Louisville Stuttgart, Germany
Foster Langsdorf Sr. F Stanford Vancouver, Wash.
Grant Lillard Sr. D Indiana Hinsdale, Ill.
Cam Lindley So. M North Carolina Carmel, Ind.
Ricky Lopez-Espin Sr. F Creighton Miami, Fla.
Ian McGrath Sr. M Evansville New Lenox, Ill.
Chris Mueller Sr. F Wisconsin Schaumburg, Ill.
Danny Musovski Sr. F UNLV Henderson, Nev.
Wyatt Omsberg Sr. D Dartmouth Scarborough, Maine
Edward Opoku Jr. F Virginia Rye, N.Y.
Pablo Pelaez So. M San Diego State San Diego, Cal.
Frantzdy Pierrot Sr. F Coastal Carolina Boston, Mass.
Afonso Pinheiro Sr. F Albany Sao Paulo, Brazil
Albert Ruiz Sr. F Florida Gulf Coast Barcelona, Spain
Ryan Sierakowski Jr. F Michigan State McHenry, Ill.
Grant Stoneman Jr. D Loyola Chicago St. Charles, Ill.
Gordon Wild Jr. F Maryland Cologne, Germany

Featured Players

Defender, Midfielder
See Commitment List