Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Jan 03, 2014

Tab Ramos names 36-player U.S. U-20 Men’s National Team Roster for camp in Lakewood Ranch, Fla.

Strikers Logo

CHICAGO – U.S. Under-20 Men’s National Team head coach Tab Ramos named a 36-player roster for the team’s domestic training camp in Lakewood Ranch, Fla. The camp runs from Jan. 3-12.

This is the team’s second camp of the new cycle and first domestic camp. The Florida camp will also feature two intrasquad scrimmages.

The roster includes 28 players with ties to the Development Academy, including 12 players who are currently registered for Academy teams. The sessions coincide with a U-18 Men’s National Team camp headed by Javier Perez.

For the U-20 group, Major League Soccer’s New York Red Bulls have the heaviest ties for one club, featuring three first-team signings (Santiago Castano, Matthew Miazga and Amando Moreno), one current Academy player (Arun Basuljevic) and two former Academy players coming off their freshman collegiate seasons (Alex Muyl of Georgetown and Adam Najem of Akron).

The roster also includes goalkeeper Zack Steffen, who was a member of the U.S. U-20 MNT at the 2013 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Turkey. Steffen also helped Maryland to a runner-up finish in the 2013 NCAA College Cup alongside fellow freshman teammate Suli Dainkeh.

Other notable players include 2012 U.S. Soccer Young Male Athlete of the Year Rubio Rubin and 2012 Nike Chance Finalist Brian Iloski.

Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (4): Jeff Caldwell (N.C. Fusion; Todd, N.C.), Santiago Castano (New York Red Bulls; Union City, N.J.), Ethan Horvath (Molde FK; Highlands Ranch, Colo.), Zack Steffen (Maryland; Downington, Pa.)
DEFENDERS (10): Jordan Allen (Real Salt Lake; Rochester, N.Y.), Michael Amick (UCLA; Sunnyvale, Calif.), Sulaiman Dainkeh (Maryland; Reston, Va.), Conor Donovan (Capital Area RailHawks Academy; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Trevor Haberkorn (Furman; Roanoke, Texas), Grant Lillard (Chicago Fire Academy; Hinsdale, Ill.), Jalen Markey (North Carolina; Renton, Wash.), Matthew Miazga (New York Red Bulls; Clifton, N.J.), Shaquell Moore (IMG Academy; Powder Springs, Ga.), John Requejo Jr. (Real So Cal; Carpinteria, Calif.)
MIDFIELDERS (14): Corey Baird (Real Salt Lake AZ; Escondido, Calif.), Arun Basuljevic (New York Red Bulls; Mahopac, N.Y.), Marco Delgado (Chivas USA; Glendora, Calif.), Luis Felipe (Cruzeiro Esporte Clube; Ouro Branco, Minas Gerais), Ian Harkes (Wake Forest; Fairfax, Va.), Jacori Hayes (Wake Forest; Bowie, Md.), Brian Iloski (UCLA; Escondido, Calif.), Eric Lickert (SC Freiburg; Glotteral, Germany), Saalih Muhammad (Dinamo GNK), Adam Najem (Akron; Clifton, N.J.), Cristian Roldan (Washington; Pico Rivera, Calif.), Herbert Robinson (Club Santos Laguna; Monclova, Coahuila), Joel Sonora (Boca Juniors; Buenos Aires, Argentina), Omar Thompson (Unattached; Miami, Fla.)
FORWARDS (8): Andrew Brody (Louisville; Orlando, Fla.), Benji Lopez (Real Salt Lake; San Diego, Calif.), Ricardo Lopez-Espin (Shattuck-St Mary’s; Miami, Fla.), Amando Moreno (NY Red Bulls; Morganville, N.J.), Alex Muyl (Georgetown; New York, N.Y.), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union; Dresher, Pa.), Rubio Rubin (Unattached; Beaverton, Ore.), Travis Wannemuehler (NC State; Evansville, Ind.)

Featured Players

Forward, Midfielder
See Commitment List