Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global May 26, 2017

Roster named for U.S. Soccer Boys National Team Futures Camp

Strikers Logo

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – A 64-player roster has been called to Carson, Calif. for U.S. Soccer’s first Boys’ National Team Futures Camp of 2017. The training camp, which consists of players who were born in 2002 and 2003, runs from May 26-30 at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center.

In pursuit of improving U.S. Soccer’s longer term objectives for talent identification and individual development of young players, U.S. Soccer Director of Talent Identification Tony Lepore has called in the group of players for a four-day camp that will focus on identifying the most talented players in the ’02 and ’03 birth years who appear to be on a later physical development path and/or are born in the second half of the year. Such parameters serve to reduce the impact of physical maturity and relative age effect on identification and evaluation of talent.

Players taking part in this camp will be exposed to a hyper-focused curriculum formulated around highlighting each player’s unique talents while challenging them to improve decision making and speed of play, raise tactical awareness, and improve technical execution.

Sixty-two players called into the Futures Camp currently play with U.S. Soccer Development Academy clubs.

+READ: U.S. Soccer appoints first group of Girls’ DA Technical Advisors

2002 Birth Year Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (3): Alex Bobocea (New York Red Bulls; Glen Oaks, N.Y.), Khamari Culcleasure (D.C. United; Alexandria, Va.), William Evans (D.C. United; McLean, Va.)

DEFENDERS (8): Ori Bitton (Real So Cal; Agoura Hills, Calif.), Amir Daley (New York Red Bulls; Elmont, N.Y.), Jahlane Forbes (Orlando City SC; Clermont, Fla.), Carl Hartman (Richmond United; Richmond, Va.), Daniel Miller (D.C. United; Dunkirk, Md.), John Michael Tolkin (New York Red Bulls; Chatham, N.J.), Cole Verrico (Philadelphia Union; Kennett Square, Pa.), Omar Wahba (Orlando City SC; Orlando, Fla.)

MIDFIELDERS (18): Matthew Acosta (New York Red Bulls; Annandale, N.J.), Gavin Brose (Vardar; Livonia, Mich.); Jackson Castro (Solar Chelsea SC; Plano, Texas), Alejandro Coury (New England Revolution; Yarmouth, Maine), Cade Cowan (Colorado Rush; Littleton, Colo.), Maxwel De-Bodene (D.C. United; Alexandria, Va.), Matthew Gee (Ballistic United; Hillsborough, Calif.), Tayvon Grey (Cedar Stars Academy – Bergan; Bronx, N.Y.), Christopher Hernandez (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Tucker Lepley (Charalotte Soccer Academy; Charlotte, N.C.), Andrew Maia (New York Red Bulls; Kearny, N.J.), Mario Penagos (Sacramento Republic FC; Elk Grove, Calif.), Pablo Salazar Jr. (LA Galaxy; La Puente, Calif.),  Ray Serrano (Seattle Sounders FC; Graham, Wash.), Benjamin Smith (Real Colorado; Centennial, Colo.), Nathan Stricker (PA Classics; Sinking Spring, Pa.), Jackson Temple (Continental FC DELCO; Millville, Pa.), Wan Kuzri Wan Kamal (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Metro; Carbondale, Ill.)

FORWARDS (3): Kyle Gee (Charlotte Soccer Academy; Charlotte, N.C.), Michael Tsicoulias (New England Revolution; Newton, Mass.), Griffin Yow (Virginia Development Academy; Clifton, Va.)

2003 Birth Year Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (3): Pablo Andrade (Albion SC; Chula Vista, Calif.), Jackson Leavitt (Solar Chelsea SC; Allen, Texas), Andre Zuluaga (Kendall SC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (6): Amir Acree (D.C. United; Washington, D.C.), Jack Anderson (New England Revolution; Holyoke, Mass.), Daniel Edelman (Players Development Academy; Warren, N.J.), Jakob Friedman (New York Red Bulls; Syosset, N.Y.), Noah Laureano (Arlington Soccer Association; Annandale, Va.), Michael Lenis (Weston, FC; Weston, Fla.)

MIDFIELDERS (18): Paxten Aaronson (Philadelphia Union; Medford, N.J.), Ethan Bellek (Colorado Storm; Timnath, Colo.), Cole Cruthers (Portland Timbers; Beaverton, Ore.), Alejandro De Villena (Atlanta United FC; Jefferson, Ga.), Christian Dominguez (World Class FC; Rock Tavern, N.Y.), Francisco Espinoza Jr. (Chicago Fire; Blue Island, Ill.), Anthony Hernandez (Crew SC Academy; Reynoldsburg, Ohio), Luke Hille Capital Area Railhawks – CASL; Cary, N.C.), Jack Jasinski (Charlotte Soccer Academy; Charlotte, N.C.), Ryan Kipness (New York City FC; Stamford, Conn.), Cole Mooney (Colorado Rapids; Colorado Springs, Colo.), Orlando Monroy (Sereno Soccer Club; Tempe, Ariz.), Kevin Paredes (D.C. United; South Ridge, Va.), Nicholas Pariano (Crew SC Academy Wolves; Ann Arbor, Mich.), Blake Pope (FC Dallas; Prosper, Texas), Noah Radecki (Beachside SC; New Canaan, Conn.), Aiden Semelsberger (Rio Rapids SC; Los Alamos, N.M.), Damon Smargon (San Diego Surf FC; San Diego, Calif.)

FORWARDS (5): Micah Cain (Philadelphia Union; Pottstown, Pa.), Peter Carriker (Seattle Sounders FC; Seattle, Wash.), Johnny Perez (LA Galaxy; Pico Rivera, Calif.), Mateo Stoka (Sockers FC; Fox Point, Wis.), Gavin Williams (Georgia United; Cumming, Ga.)