Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Dec 14, 2015

Nominees set for 2015 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – U.S. Soccer has announced the five nominees for 2015 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year. This year’s field features midfielder Michael Bradley, forward Clint Dempsey, goalkeeper Brad Guzan and defenders Fabian Johnson and DeAndre Yedlin.

A new voting process was instituted last year. Votes will be collected from National Team and Youth National Team coaches and staff, MNT players who have earned a cap in 2014, Major League Soccer and North American Soccer League head coaches, select media members, former players and administrators.

The winner of the 2015 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year Award will be announced Friday, Dec. 18.

Dempsey is a three-time winner of the award (2007, 2011, 2012), while Michael Bradley has earned three nominations. Bradley (2007) and DeAndre Yedlin (2014) are previous winners of the Young Male Player of the Year. Fabian Johnson earns his second consecutive nomination, while Brad Guzan makes his debut on the short list.

Landon Donovan holds the record for most Male Player of the Year awards with four honors (2003, 2004, 2009, 2010).

The U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year has been awarded since 1984, when midfielder Rick Davis earned the inaugural honor.

Featured Players

See Commitment List