Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on


No. 12 Virginia Tech women defeat Davidson, 2-1

Strikers Logo

BLACKSBURG, Va. (Via Virginia Tech University) – Virginia Tech defeated Davidson, 2-1, in non-conference women’s soccer action Thursday night at Thompson Field. With the win, the No. 12 Hokies improve to 7-0-1 overall, while Davidson falls to 1-4 on the season.

The two teams played to a scoreless draw in the first half. Tech out shot the Wildcats, 6-1 in the opening period. The game remained scoreless into the 59th minute, when Tech broke through first on a diving header by Laila Gray off of a cross from Madi Conyers. Davidson countered in the 66th minute, as Vicky Bruce scored on a rebound off of her own shot that went off the crossbar.

The Hokies put in the decisive goal in the 73rd minute, as Ashley Meier headed in a cross from Kallie Peurifoy. The goal was the 28th of her career and fourth of the season. She is now third in career goals at Virginia Tech and tied with former teammate Shannon Mayrose for fourth in career points.

“I’m happy with the result tonight,” head coach Chugger Adair said. “Getting the win was important for us. Davidson was well organized, battled, competed and made it difficult for us to breakdown. “

Tech played the game without standouts Jordan Coburn and leading scorer Murielle Tiernan, who both sat out of tonight’s match with minor injuries.

Kaylyn Smith picked up her sixth win of the season in goal, recording one save in her 90 minutes of action. The Hokies held a 12-5 advantage in shots on the evening and took the advantage in corner kicks, 6-0.

“I thought we controlled much of the game,” Adair added. “We had maybe 80-85 percent of position, but didn’t put the numbers up until late. Happy we were able to get two goals, but disappointed we gave up that goal late in the match. I would have liked to have seen us post and shutout and defend a little tighter.”

Tech returns to action on Sunday afternoon, as they travel to Washington, D.C. to face Georgetown. The match will begin at 1 p.m. at Shaw Field.

Featured Players

See Commitment List