Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

USYS Jan 14, 2017

National winners announced at 2017 US Youth Soccer Awards Gala

Strikers Logo

LOS ANGELES (Via US Youth Soccer) — Fourteen individuals were honored with national awards Friday night at the 2017 US Youth Soccer Awards Gala, held in the Diamond Ballroom at the JW Marriott L.A. Live in Los Angeles.

Hilary Kennedy, host of The US Youth Soccer Show, set the stage for the night as the master of ceremonies for the more than 1,000 in attendance. Boys and Girls Competitive Coaches of the Year, Boys and Girls Recreation Coaches of the Year, Young Referees of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Administrator of the Year, Goal and Save of the Year, TOPSoccer Buddy and Coach of the Year  and the Dr. Thomas Fleck Award were presented during the Gala, and the 2016 US Youth Soccer Hall of Fame Class was inducted.
Full releases for each of the winners and honorees can be accessed by clicking on the names below.

Female Young Referee of the Year Katherine Highsmith
Male Young Referee of the Year Philip Meersman
Volunteer of the Year Johnny Montoya
Administrator of the Year James Waldron
TOPSoccer Buddy of the Year Patrick Casey
TOPSoccer Coach of the Year Katie Steinert
Girls Recreation Coach of the Year Joe Matthews
Boys Recreation Coach of the Year Steve Reid
Girls Competitive Coach of the Year John Greaves
Boys Competitive Coach of the Year Michael Ertel
Goal of the Year Miguel Gonzalez
Save of the Year Mitchell Kawika Hufalar
Dr. Thomas Fleck Award Nick Zlatar
Hall of Fame Tony Buiniskis