Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

MLS NEXT Jun 06, 2024

MLS NEXT announces 2023-24 Regular-Season Award Winners

NEW YORK MLS NEXT announced the winners of the MVP, Goal of the Year, and Sportsmanship Award for the 2023-24 MLS NEXT regular season.

Players and teams from each of the four age groups (U-15, U-16, U-17, U-19) were selected based on their 2023-24 MLS NEXT regular-season performances. 11 different clubs, including eight MLS NEXT Elite Academies were represented among the winners.

All four MLS NEXT ’23-’24 MVPs were selected by MLS NEXT Talent ID personnel, considering individual achievements and team success over the course of the season. Each MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Goal of the Year was chosen by fans who participated in a social media vote to nominate and select the best goal of the season from each of the four age groups.

The ’23-’24 Sportsmanship Award was awarded to teams based off a disciplinary point system that calculated players and staff yellow card and red card totals, which were then adjusted for the number of games played by that club. All 2024 Generation adidas Cup matches were excluded from the point system.

2023-24 U-15 MLS NEXT Awards

U-15 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 MVP – Kaedren Spivey (San Jose Earthquakes)

Spivey had a breakout 2023-24 season, scoring 11 goals in 21 games as an attacking midfielder for the San Jose Earthquakes, one of the highest scoring teams in the U-15 age group. The young Quakes midfielder also had three goals at the 2024 Generation adidas Cup, where the team reached the quarterfinals in the U-15 age group. Spivey is also a member of the U.S. U-15 Youth National Team, which recently won the Vlatko Markovic tournament in Croatia in May, where he started the Final against Japan.

U-15 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Goal of the Year – Noah Lopez (Sacramento United) – WATCH

U-15 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Sportsmanship Award – Lanier Soccer Association

2023-24 U-16 MLS NEXT Awards

U-16 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 MVP – Xavier Krause (Queen City Mutiny)

Krause was the star player for a Queen City Mutiny team, which went 23-4-2 in 29 matches across the MLS NEXT regular season, MLS NEXT Flex, and MLS NEXT Fest. Krause scored a club-high 22 goals during the regular season and MLS NEXT Flex, and Queen City led the U-16 Southeast Division with 3.27 goals per game. Krause produced two goals at MLS NEXT Flex as the club won all three games in their group to punch their ticket to the 2024 MLS NEXT Cup Playoffs.

U-16 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Goal of the Year – Miguel Ruiz (SC Del Sol) – WATCH

U-16 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Sportsmanship Award – PA Classics

2023-24 U-17 MLS NEXT Awards

U-17 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 MVP – Stefan Chirila (FC Cincinnati)

One of the top goal scorers in all of MLS NEXT, Stefan Chirila becomes the second FC Cincinnati player to be named MLS NEXT MVP, joining Ryder Mills (U-19 in 2022-23). Chirila scored 41 times across all youth competitions for the U-17 side, while also earning U-17 Generation adidas Cup Top Scorer honors by recording five goals at the illustrious competition. On May 21, Cincinnati announced that he had signed his first professional contract with FC Cincinnati 2 and that he will join FC Cincinnati as a Homegrown player in 2025. Earlier this season, Chirila made his debut for FC Cincinnati 2 on March 17, and he has already produced four goals and two assists in seven matches.

U-17 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Goal of the Year – Noah Santos (Portland Timbers) – WATCH

U-17 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Sportsmanship Award – PA Classics

2023-24 U-19 MLS NEXT Awards

U-19 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 MVP – Dean Boltz (Sockers FC)

Sockers FC was one of two teams in the U-19 age group to lose only one MLS NEXT game all season and the side was led by forward Dean Boltz. The first-ever MLS NEXT MVP in club history, Boltz was the top scorer for the club with 19 regular season goals and four goals at MLS NEXT Flex in May. Boltz’ influence on the team helped Sockers’ U-19 team outscore opponents 88 to 11 over the course of the season. Boltz is committed to join the University of Wisconsin Men’s Soccer Team beginning in the fall of 2024.

U-19 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Goal of the Year – Fernando Duarte (Breakers FC) – WATCH

U-19 MLS NEXT ’23-’24 Sportsmanship Award – Oakwood Soccer Club