Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Youth WNT Jan 09, 2020

Laura Harvey selects first U.S. U-20 Women’s National Team roster, calling up 25 players

CHICAGO – Newly-appointed U.S. Under-20 Women’s National Team head coach Laura Harvey has named her first roster, calling 25 players to a training camp in Lakewood Ranch, Florida, running from Jan. 9-20.

After this camp, Harvey will select the 20-player roster for the 2020 Concacaf Women’s U-20 Championship to be held from Feb. 15-March 1 in the Dominican Republic. The 2020 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup will be held in Panama and Costa Rica this August.

The 25-player U.S. roster is made up of 10 players born in 2000 (which is the age cut-off year for the U-20 Women’s World Cup), 10 players born in 2001 and five in 2002. Ten players on the roster were a part of the USA’s 2018 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Team and two – midfielder Brianna Pinto and forward Alexa Spaanstra – were a part of the USA’s 2018 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Team and are in their second U-20 cycle.

The roster features 18 college players – including Maya Doms and Kennedy Wesley from the 2019 NCAA Champion Stanford Cardinal – and six players who are playing youth club. Midfielder Talia DellaPeruta is currently playing in Germany with FC Köln.

Several top players in the U-20 WNT pool are out with injuries and forward Sophia Smith, who was born in 2000, is currently training with the full U.S. Women’s National Team during its January camp. Harvey may add an additional goalkeeper before the start of camp.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Claudia Dickey (UNC; Charlotte, N.C.), Julia Dohle (Penn State; Scarsdale, N.Y.), Meagan McClelland (Rutgers; Kearny, N.J.)

DEFENDERS (8): Michela Agresti (Boston College; Swampscott, Mass.), Samar Guidry (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Shae Holmes (Washington; Highlands Ranch, Colo.), Smith Hunter (Seattle Reign Academy; Seattle, Wash.), Emily Mason (PDA; Flemington, N.J.), Bria Schrotenboer (Michigan State; Holland, Mich.), Natalia Staude (Virginia; Atlanta, Ga.), Kennedy Wesley (Stanford; Rossmoor, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Talia DellaPeruta (FC Köln; Cumming, Ga.), Maya Doms (Stanford; Davis, Calif.), Katelyn Duong (Minnesota; Portland, Ore.), Avery Lockwood (Indiana; Grand Rapids, Mich.), Brianna Pinto (UNC; Durham, N.C.), Alexa Spaanstra (Virginia; Brighton, Mich.), Astrid Wheeler (Concorde Fire SC; Atlanta, Ga.), Summer Yates (Washington; Pasco, Wash.)

FORWARDS (6): Catherine Barry (NEFC; Hingham, Mass.), Mia Fishel (UCLA; San Diego, Calif.), Rebecca Jarrett (Virginia; Clifton, N.J.), Sydny Nasello (South Florida; Land O’ Lakes, Fla.), Jenna Nighswonger (Florida State; Huntington Beach, Calif.), Trinity Rodman (SoCal Blues SC; Laguna Niguel, Calif.)