Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Aug 17, 2015

Five U.S. players named to FIFA Women’s World Cup All-Star Squad

Strikers Logo

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – The FIFA’s Technical Study Group (TSG) has unveiled the members of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup All-Star Squad.

Five U.S. players were among the 23 selected; Golden Glove winner Hope Solo, defenders Julie Johnston and Meghan Klingenberg, and midfielders Megan Rapinoe and Carli Lloyd.

The All-Star Squad is made up of three goalkeepers, seven defenders and 13 midfielders and forwards. Four players from Japan and France were named along with three from Germany and England.

+Read: USWNT defeats Costa Rica 8-0 to open Victory Tour

Solo played every minute of all seven games and earned five shutouts during the tournament. Johnston played every minute of the tournament at center-back while Klingenberg did the same at left back.

Rapinoe got the USA off to a great start with two goals against Australia during the 3-1 victory in the first Group D match, and also had two assist during the tournament, including one on the first goal of the World Cup Final.

Lloyd led the USA in scoring with six goals, all coming in the knockout rounds, and scored the historic hat trick in the Women’s World Cup Final. She also won the Silver Boot as the second leading scorer in the tournament.

2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup All-Star Squad:
Goalkeepers: Nadine Angerer (GER), Karen Bardsley (ENG), Hope Solo (USA)
Defenders: Saori Ariyoshi (JPN), Lucy Bronze (ENG), Kadeisha Buchanan (CAN), Steph Houghton (ENG), Julie Johnston (USA), Meghan Klingenberg (USA), Wendie Renard (FRA)
Midfielders and forwards: Ramona Bachmann (SUI), Lisa De Vanna (AUS), Amandine Henry (FRA), Elise Kellond-Knight (AUS), Eugénie Le Sommer (FRA), Carli Lloyd (USA), Anja Mittag (GER), Aya Miyama (JPN), Megan Rapinoe (USA), Mizuho Sakaguchi (JPN), Celia Sasic (GER), Elodie Thomis (FRA), Rumi Utsugi (JPN).

Featured Players

See Commitment List