Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

USWNT Oct 05, 2019

Casey Short added to USWNT roster for match vs. Korea Republic in Chicago

CHICAGO – Chicago Red Stars defender Casey Short has been added to the U.S. Women’s National Team roster for the final match of the 2019 Victory Tour.

Short will make a quick trip to the team hotel to join the U.S. squad for the Sunday, Oct. 6 match against Korea Republic at Soldier Field (1 p.m. CT on ESPN). The game will be the final match for head coach Jill Ellis, who announced on July 30 that she would be stepping down at the end of the Victory Tour after her extremely successful run at the helm of the U.S. team.

Short, like Andi Sullivan, who was added before the two Korea matches, was named to the roster due to several injuries and the overall work load of the 2019 Women’s World Cup Team players as the NWSL season nears its conclusion.

Short, who has 29 WNT caps, started 23 of the Red Stars 24 matches this season to help the Chicago side to a second-place finish in the NWSL regular season and a playoff berth. Short played in both matches for the USA against Portugal earlier in the Victory Tour when she was also called in to add depth and be available to play valuable minutes to spell World Cup players.

U.S. Women’s National Team Roster by Position – 2019 Victory Tour vs. Korea Republic:
GOALKEEPERS (3): 21-Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC), 18-Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), 1-Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (8): 7-Abby Dahlkemper (NC Courage), 12-Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), 19-Crystal Dunn (NC Courage), 11-Ali Krieger (Orlando Pride), 5-Kelley O’Hara (Utah Royals FC), 4-Becky Sauerbrunn (Utah Royals FC), 26-Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), 14-Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS (6): 6-Morgan Brian (Chicago Red Stars), 8-Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), 16-Rose Lavelle (Washington Spirit), 20-Allie Long (Reign FC), 3-Samantha Mewis (NC Courage), 25-Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)

FORWARDS (7): 17-Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), 10-Carli Lloyd (Sky Blue FC), 22-Jessica McDonald (NC Courage), 13-Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), 23-Christen Press (Utah Royals FC), 2-Mallory Pugh (Washington Spirit), 15-Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC)