Get Recruited Faster with a Player Profile on

Global Dec 20, 2017

Candidate list confirmed for 2018 U.S. Soccer Presidential Election

CHICAGO (Via U.S. Soccer) – The official slate of candidates to stand for election as President of the U.S. Soccer Federation has been confirmed today by the Nominating and Governance Committee of U.S. Soccer.

A total of eight candidates have met the requirements to stand for election. The election will take place during U.S. Soccer’s National Council Meeting on Feb. 10 in Orlando.

2018 U.S. Soccer Presidential Candidates (listed alphabetically)

  • Paul Caligiuri
  • Kathy Carter
  • Carlos Cordeiro
  • Steve Gans
  • Kyle Martino
  • Hope Solo
  • Michael Winograd
  • Eric Wynalda

To be placed on the ballot, candidates were required to:

  • Complete a background check
  • Submit at least three (3) letters of nomination on official letterhead from Organization Members (as defined in Bylaw 302) and/or one of three Athlete Members of the Board of Directors

Bio information submitted by the candidates can be found here.

U.S. Soccer is a non-profit organization and the governing body of soccer in all its forms in the United States. Headquartered in Chicago, U.S. Soccer has played an integral part in charting the course for the sport in the USA for more than 100 years. The Federation’s mission statement is clear and simple: to make soccer, in all its forms, a preeminent sport in the United States and to continue the development of soccer at all recreational and competitive levels.