News » Pro » MLS »

FC Dallas goalkeeper Chris Seitz named MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year

Major League Soccer announced today that FC Dallas goalkeeper Chris Seitz was voted the 2012 MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year.

This past August, Seitz was contacted by DKMS, the world’s largest bone marrow center, and told that he was a potential bone marrow donation match for a leukemia patient. Seitz, along with his then Real Salt Lake teammates, originally registered with DKMS to become bone marrow donors in 2009 as a gesture of support for teammate Andy Williams and his wife Marcia, who was battling a rare form of leukemia.

Seitz traveled to a DKMS participating hospital for further testing and was confirmed as the best possible match for the patient. Because timing is critical in the bone marrow donation process, Seitz committed to a September surgery in which doctors extracted bone marrow from his pelvic bone with a hollow needle inserted through small incisions. As a result, he missed the remainder of the MLS season.

Seitz has been a part of the FC Dallas squad for two seasons.  Before moving to Frisco in 2011, Seitz played 23 games with Philadelphia Union during their inaugural season.  In 2007, Real Salt Lake chose Seitz, after two seasons at University of Maryland, with the fourth overall pick in the MLS SuperDraft.

The other two finalists were Philadelphia Union midfielder Michael Lahoud and Sporting Kansas City forward Kei Kamara. Below is a breakdown of the voting for the top five candidates:

Player (Club) % of Club Votes % of Media Votes % of Player Votes Weighted Total
Chris Seitz (DAL) 38.89 60 21.35 120.24
Kei Kamara (SKC) 9.26 8.33 7.87 25.46
Michael Lahoud (PHI) 11.11 0 7.87 18.98
Kenny Cooper (NY) 5.56 3.33 7.87 16.76
Dan Kennedy (CHV) 1.85 8.33 5.61 15.79

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year winners

2012: Chris Seitz – FC Dallas
2011: Zak Boggs – New England Revolution
2010: Seth Stammler – New York Red Bulls
2009: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards; Logan Pause – Chicago Fire
2008: Jose Luis Burciaga Jr. – Colorado Rapids
2007: Diego Gutierrez – Chicago Fire
2006: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2005: Brian Kamler – Real Salt Lake
2004: Chris Henderson – Colorado Rapids
2003: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2002: Steve Jolley – MetroStars
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Abdul T. Conteh – San Jose Earthquakes